Today We Have A Special Guest, Author Ty Johnston

Posted: November 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

Hi All,

Today, I am handing the keys over to fantasy author Ty Johnston. Ty is going to talk about a program called Operation ebook Drop, which delivers free eBooks to our men and women serving in the US Military. I don’t want to spoil his guest post by revealing everything, but I will say it’s one of the best things going on in eBookland right now. In my opinion, anyway.

In any case, here’s Ty:

*********

Hello, there. For those who don’t know me, I’m epic fantasy indie writer Ty Johnston, author of City of Rogues, Bayne’s Climb and More Than Kin, all of which are available for the Kindle, the Nook and online at Smashwords If interested, you can find out more about me at my own blog.

This month I’m traveling around the blogosphere promoting the Nov. 21 release of latest e-book novel, Ghosts of the Asylum, but today I’d like to talk about something other than myself.

I’d like to let writers and readers know about Operation E-Book Drop.

Operation E-Book Drop is a program in which authors can provide their e-books for free to soldiers. The creator of this program is author Edward C. Patterson, along with the cooperation of Mark Coker, the founder of Smashwords.

As of this writing, more than 1,000 authors have taken part in this program, including myself and David McAfee, and more than 3 million e-books have been provided to our soldiers.

I’m sure Ed is proud of those numbers. I know I am.

In my only little way, I’ve given back to our men and women who put their lives on the line to defend our freedoms. What I’ve done is not enough, and never will be enough, but I’m proud of myself and my fellow authors for what we have accomplished and will continue to accomplish through Operation E-Book Drop. More than that, I’m proud of our soldiers, and I am thankful to them for standing in harm’s way for the rest of us.

So far, I’ve made one novel, City of Rogues, and one novella, Bayne’s Climb, available for free to our soldiers through Operation E-Book Drop. I plan on doing more, including making available my latest e-book novel, Ghosts of the Asylum.

If you are an active member of the military, please contact Edward C. Patterson and let him know if you would like to be added to his growing list of those who receive our e-books.

If you are an author, I ask you to consider taking part in this program.

It is the least we can do for those who serve.

**************

Thank you, Ty. And thanks for letting the folks know about Operation eBook Drop. Our soldiers deserve it.

Comments
  1. Ty Johnston says:

    David, thanks much for hosting me today. I’m always glad to spread the word about Operation Ebok Drop.

Leave a comment