I’m Working. Again.

Posted: April 1, 2016 in Uncategorized

So, I’m writing again. Is this a big deal? Probably only to myself and a handful of others. I actually have not written much of anything since the short story Satisfaction for the Lyrical Darkness anthology. And honestly, I am not sure why. Just…kinda been in a funk lately. Blame the movie deal failure. That’s what I’m gonna do.

I’ve never been a speedy writer. Thankfully, I am not as slow as George R.R. Martin (although I wouldn’t mind having his numbers!), but sometimes it does take me a while to get going. I recently got going on a new project (a sequel to something…non-Bachiyr) and it made me remember why I write in the first place. Sitting down and putting words to a story felt awesome! Like coming home for Christmas after being gone for two decades.

No matter how much of a pain it can be sometimes, I love writing. It’s just about the only thing I’ve ever wanted to do, even when I do it badly. So I have developed a theory, and you can tell me if I sound like a loon. It goes like this: I get in a funk, and stop writing. The lack of writing causes the funk to deepen, which causes me not to write. Ad infinitum.

Yeah, that could be it. Or I could just be a lazy asshole. Either explanation is good with me. Honestly, I’m not picky.

In any case, it all boils down to one thing: I have not been doing my job. (Well, okay…one of my jobs. My kids are all still alive and they seem to be growing at normal rates, so at least my Stay At Home Dad duties have not been neglected.) I have not been writing.

That needs to change. And it will change.

Starting tomorrow.

Ha! πŸ™‚

No, seriously. Tomorrow. It’s already really stinking late here and the baby hates sleep. Oh, and I’ve already written about 1,500 words today. Not my best day, but not my worst.

So, to those three people out there who are waiting for the next Taras and Theron book: it’s coming. I promise. I have not retired yet. BAIT will be my next release, though. Then T&T. Then…I dunno. Something cool. I’ve been hatching a plot for a sequel to NASTY LITTLE F*!#ERS, but I am not sure if it will ever see the light of day.

Time will tell.

Okay, that’s it for tonight, folks. I hope everyone has a wonderful April 1st.

See Ya!

–David

 

Comments
  1. Deborah M Gerrald says:

    Looking forward to anything you out down, love!

  2. Paul Carlson says:

    Have a wonderful April 1st you say.. How am I to do that when I’m left wondering if this isn’t your idea of an April Fools joke?

    I’m glad your writing again. You are writing again, right?

    You and George, you’re both killing me with anticipation.

    Seriously, you’re not pranking, are you? πŸ™‚

    LOL

Leave a Reply

