Okay, Who’s Ready For Round Two?

Posted: July 28, 2015 in Uncategorized

I know I was supposed to post this yesterday, but I didn’t get a chance. I was working until the wee hours, as usual, but prior to that I had to make an unscheduled trip to the grocery store. Those of you with small children may understand why I chose to go by myself late at night instead of during the day while dragging two temperamental and tiny humans along for the ride, am I right? Yep. I am.

So anyway, here we are, mostly back on schedule, and I have three more signed sets of these to give away:

1781091_939921042725983_5529306514227531548_o

But of course, it’s not just those three books. Included are signed copies of Saying Goodbye to the Sun, NASTY LITTLE F!#*ERS, and Old Sins. I just don’t have pictures of those handy. But they are in there, I promise. You can trust me, right? Would this face lie to you?

1209081132a

Oh, wait…that’s not the picture I meant to post. I meant THIS face:

Author Photo

There. Would that face lie to you? Of course not. This face is far too cool, in a geeky, authorly kind of way, to lie to you guys. And get away with it, anyway.

So, you’re probably wondering why I’m stalling…er…prattling on. It’s because I have not yet figured out this week’s contest. So I am going to have to make up something real quick. Something fun. something entertaining. Something anyone can do…Hmmm…what have we got that we haven’t done in a while…?

Oh! Oh! Fight to the death! You guys pick some weapons, square off, and…and…no? Not worth it? Well, crap. You’re probably right. Ok, what else can we do? Hmmm…

Aha! A cross country skateboard race. You have to ride a rocket powered skateboard from New York to Los Angeles and…and…shoot. You’re not buying that one, either? Well, damn.

All right, then. How about a good old fashioned comment party? You comment on this post, and I will do the Random.org thing again, and BAM! Someone will win six free books. How does that sound? What should you say? Anything! Tell me a joke. Tell me a dirty joke. Post a picture of your dog. Post a picture of your dog taking a picture. Post a poem you wrote in grade school, or a link to a poem about pictures of dogs. Write a post telling me how incredibly handsome I am, or write one calling me a talentless dipshit who probably freebases mayonnaise. I don’t care what you post, just post something! It can be anything you like…within reason, of course. I have a pretty good stomach for tasteless stuff, but let’s not push the limits, ok? Little kids read this blog.

Okay, that’s a lie. No little kids read it. Still, be nice. Relatively speaking.

And for those of you who read the blog on Goodreads: YES, your comments there count. I don’t get into Goodreads much these days, but I get email notifications when you post there. So post away.

All right, so there ya have it. I will announce the winner early next week. Monday, maybe Tuesday. Write some stuff. Have some fun! Win some books! Go! 🙂

–David

Comments
  1. MatthewJames says:

    i’ll give you a lap dance for the right mcaFEE.

    • Robert Mckay says:

      Just finished 79 AD; thank you for a fantastic third instalment. Please put me and my colleges out of our misery, have you plans for a forth book and when.
      Thanks for a great read Rob

      • mcafeeland says:

        Indeed I do, Rob. I’m working on another book right now, but after that I’ll be writing the next Bachiyr novel. I have no plans to stop writing them any time soon.

      • r.mckay24@yahoo.co.uk says:

        Looking forward to it. thank you for taking the time to reply

      • mcafeeland says:

        You kidding? Talking to you guys is one of my favorite things about this gig. I should be thanking you! 🙂

  2. Well, I will have to recruit someone else to hold the camera first but, I could post a photo of me “at the ready”, Klingon style…I’ll retrieve my bat’leth from it’s display in the morning. Until then, I could just tell stories of your middle school escapades???

  3. Donna Butler says:

    Ok, you cracked me up with this one! I really don’t know what to say so here goes……good luck everyone!! 😁 thanks for being awesome David! Go tigers!! Hehe

  4. Jen antle says:

    Tiny humans at a grocery store, that. Sounds like sooo much fun …. Haha don’t miss that at all… But also don’t enjoy the two teens in my house lol

  5. Theresa Martin says:

    So, here is my comment: Many years ago my best friend brought you to my apt after you and her just got out of work at Govenor’s. You attended my wedding, we played a few role playing games together with a group of friends many times you were the DMV or storyteller and I used to always tell you that you should be a writer. I have yet to read any of your books which I am ashamed to say but I am looking forward to reading them and have promoted them to my friends via word if mouth. Extremely proud of you whether you pick me or not, congrats on your success! 🙂

  6. Marisa Garding-Brown says:

    I would tell you a good joke, but I’m sick so my brain doesn’t work well. I really want those books though! Good luck to all!

  7. Phil Lindsey says:

    I definitely need to win this since my 3 year old son has informed me that he is building a rocket ship to carry us into deep space. He has the snacks covered but alas I have 0 good reading material!

  8. Kevin Song says:

    For some reason, my dog likes to take pictures of me naked! I don’t know why, but, he always catches me coming out of the shower! I really should lock the door.

  9. Billy Tillson says:

    I want free books
    I need free books
    I could possibly die without free books
    So if I don’t win and don’t enter any more upcoming competitions plz mourn me 😉

  10. Tiny humans at the grocery store you say? That would be the very reason I work night shift in a grocery store; so there are no Tiny humans; or very few at least! (Sorry I’m not very tiny human friendly)

  11. Adam says:

    To be completely honest, I was a little upset when you decided against the duel to the death. I had my hand firmly placed on my stapler, fingers twitching. You have absolutely no idea the damage you can cause with one of those baby’s. I’ll send you the details of one of my employees and he’ll give you a run down of the torture I inflict upon him.

    I was glad you decided against the skateboard thing seeing as though I don’t live in the states and I have balance issues. Never been terribly steady on my feet and, no, it’s not because of vodka.

    And now for a joke (little kids, please cover your eyes). What’s the difference between peanut butter and jam? You can peanut butter your dick up someone’s arse.

    Let’s hope that didn’t push the web boundaries too far. It’s one of the tamest jokes I know.

    Anyway, let’s hope my number will come up to win the books.

    • mcafeeland says:

      The problem with the whole “Fight to the death” thing is that someone, somewhere, would most assuredly blame ME for the loss of their loved ones. They’ll say I could have held a different contest, or that I shouldn’t incite my readers to violence, or that I’m a poopy-ninny head. All of these things are true, of course, but until my readership grows by at least three orders of magnitude, I’m afraid I simply cannot afford the inevitable lawsuits.

  12. 4knots says:

    I want the books as a gift for my nephew who now lives with Kai, et al. No worries…if I don’t win I will buy them.

  13. Joey Stair says:

    I have been wanting to read your books for awhile now, but i just haven’t gotten around to going out to find them or order them. It would be awesome to win signed copies.

  14. Jenny Price says:

    I would love a second chance at those books!

  15. David B says:

    I have the same first name. Pick me! It’ll be like signing them to yourself from yourself.

Leave a Reply

