Another Review! Yay, Me!

Posted: June 19, 2015 in Uncategorized

I received another reader review today, and yes, I have to share it here. This one comes from Mikle Stanley, and it’s great!

“79 A.D. By David McAfee

Allow me to start this review with a disclaimer. I did receive and early copy from the author in agreement to write an honest review, and as such here goes.

I have read pretty much everything Mr. McAfee has written thus far. Some of his books are more enjoyable than others but that is how it goes with any artist in any medium. This book is a continuation of the Bachiyr series that was started with 33 A.D. If you are not familiar with what a Bachiyr is or 33 A.D. I would suggest you stop reading this review now and go buy that! 79 A.D. Is actually the 4th installment in the series and it keeps things moving along nicely! All the favorites are back from Theron and Taras to Ramah and Herris…errrr I meant Headcouncil Herris, along with some new interesting characters and some that you just wish would shut up and DIE already. I won’t tell you which is which because that takes the fun out of it.

As far as a new entry in the series, this book sets up some amazingly interesting new story lines that I can’t wait to explore. I honestly was surprised several times during this book (sadly this doesn’t happen enough when you read as much as I do) and have no clue where Mr. McAfee is going to take us next. The only thing I can say to it is I can’t wait to go. Over all I would give this book, on a scale of 1-5 a very, very solid 4.25. The biggest thing holding it back was it took a while to get this book, lol which shows the Mr. McAfee has a life but it is also a little short of a read for my taste. Normally I would accuse an Author of trying to milk the readers for more money but that is just not the case as he vastly under charges for his work. Anyway just when you are getting into it, bam it feels like it’s over. Perhaps this is just my experience as I could read about the adventures of the Bachiyr for days and days and days. In fact that is exactly what I did bc it took me about 2 weeks to read but I would just savor a few chapters each night before bed and sleep on it.

So What it boils down to is this, if you like interesting Vampire novels (not sparkling) and intriguing characters BUY THIS BOOK. Bachiyr are an exciting take and the way he mixes history/religion in with the series keeps it fresh. Hopefully you have already read the other books in the series and understand what I am talking about but if not do so as I do feel they are must read material to properly enjoy such a fine piece of work.”

As I told Mikle in my reply, I’ll take a 4.25 out of 5 all day long, every day! Make no mistake, I enjoy getting glowing reviews that tell me how much a reader loved my book, but I also enjoy getting reviews with a critical element. I feel that knowing what works or what doesn’t work helps me to become a better writer, and the only way I know these things is if readers tell me. Now, most of the review is filled with glowing praise for the book, and that, too, makes me smile. Big time.

So thank you for the fantastic and honest review, Mikle! It made my day. 🙂

On another note, I have just uploaded the Bachiyr Omnibus to Smashwords, so it will soon find its way into all the other non-Kindle outlets. This way, those of you who read on Nooks or iPads won’t be left out. Cool, huh? See, I got your back, e-readers of the world!

Lastly, the print cover had some issues. I (hopefully) fixed them, and should have the opportunity to load 79 A.D. up as a print book tomorrow. I hope. So print readers, I got your backs, too. 😉

Okay, I need to get back to work. All this formatting and uploading has taken a lot of time away from BAIT, and I really, really want to get that out to you folks ASAP.

–David

Leave a Reply

