Two More Reviews!

Posted: June 4, 2015 in Uncategorized

The reviews are starting to trickle in, folks. I received two more today. I am posting them below. FULL DISCLOSURE: I edited the first one for spoilers.

#1 – Kristina Nason Byers writes:

“…I don’t know how to write a book review or exactly what you want so here’s what I’ve got for you….I loved it. Again you knocked my socks off. I was not expecting a few of the things you threw at me. First I am not excited about XXXXX anymore. …and the XXXXX Twist!!!! That I have to say is probably my favorite.”….”I have so many ideas and words running through my head right now that I feel like I can’t type fast enough. The book was never at one point boring. I don’t know how you do it but there’s always a point in a book where I sit and think “are you kidding me?” or “yeah right this would never happen like that” but in your book I don’t have that. I really enjoy the details you put in. Just small simple details like how you described the different XXXXXX.”…”I like details. It puts me in the story more and you’re very good at it. I appreciate the small stuff. I enjoyed the story of XXXXX and her struggles as well. That hit at sweet spot too.”…”I LOVE how you put action and suspense with struggle and heartbreak. You know how to make a heartbeat sir! Yet again another brilliant book. You sir sure know how to throw some word on a piece of paper. I can’t thank you enough for letting me read this. I feel honored.”

Kristina, I am the one who should feel honored. Thank you so much for reading 79 A.D. and for the enthusiastic kind words.

#2 – Kim Manzoni writes:

“79 A.D. – By David McAfee
First let me say, I was sent a pre-release of this book by the author. I am one of his fans who was lucky enough to be chosen to read and review 79 A.D before the official release date. I have previously read 33 A.D and 61 A.D…then I patiently waited while Mr. McAfee wrote 79 A.D. I was consistently checking his facebook page and blog, wondering when the next book would be completed. My excitement rose tremendously when he announced that the novel was ready.

I am an avid reader that loves vampire, zombie and horror books, especially those that bring characters into a historical event in time. I am not focused on the historical accuracy as much as I am focused on the historical event taking place around these characters. That is what first drew me to read 33 A.D, (if you haven’t read it already a slight spoiler is ahead) the story took place during the time of Jesus Christ.

79 A.D takes place during the decimation of Pompeii. Which is a great historical backdrop for this storyline. If you have read the previous installments you will be happy to see all of the important, familiar names are present. Taras and Theron have such unique personalities that it makes it difficult for you to choose a side in their battle with one another. You want to relate to both of these Bachiyr and will struggle at times to like them due to their choices but hating the Council & Herris still comes easy in this story. While you will already know many of the characters, Mr McAfee also brings new characters into play. You are introduced to several of the humans in Pompeii who have no idea what is about to become of their beloved city as Vesuvius rumbles in the distance and introduced to new wicked vampires, who become entangled in the lives of Theron and Taras.

While reading 79 A.D my pulse quickened and my stomach fluttered when there was a convergence in the story line of several of the main players. This was the most exhilarating part for me as I had so many ideas in my head about what was going to take place, trying to think ahead in the story – only to be surprised by what actually happened. Just when I thought I knew where this was going, Mr. McAfee surprised me and there was a different truth and outcome than that which I had expected. This is not a story where you “see the plot coming” or “know what will happen next”. The story line never fell flat, never left me bored and never made me wish I could skip pages. Every chapter was riveting and written well. I was not let down!

I hope that we see spin off stories from a few of the characters that surround Theron and Taras. Would love to know more about the life of Ramah, Baella and Herris. From the beginning of their time as cursed creatures with The Father to their present time in history.

To sum this up:
This is not just another bloody vampire book. You will be sucked in (pun intended) by the past, current and future lives of Taras and Theron as well as the lives of the Bachiyrs and the humans around them.”

Thank you, Kim. Your wonderful review brought a huge smile to my face.

Okay, folks. That’s really all I have to share for now. I will be back in a few days to let you know when the pre-order is available. Stay tuned!
–David
Comments
  1. Joel says:

    Good on you David. I am really looking forward to read this book.

  2. Kim says:

    thank you for 79 AD. Look forward to the next!

Leave a Reply

