The First Review Is In!

Posted: June 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

Okay, folks. I sent out about a dozen PDF files of 79 A.D. last week. I sent a couple to book reviewers, and I sent several to readers. Today I received the first review from a reader, Matthew Scott Szerzinsky. Here it is, reprinted with his permission:

“Let me start by saying I loved the two full length novels and the novella that preceded this latest installment in the Bachiyr series (33 A.D./61 A.D./After, respectively being the others). Mr. McAfee has kept up the strong storytelling and further developed the mythology with this latest chapter. Set against the impending doom of Pompeii, this is a book that puts our two main protagonists, Theron and Taras, into more jeopardy than either is fully aware of from the opening chapter. All of the characters you’ve grown to love (or love to hate) are present from Herris (Headcouncil Herris!) to Ramah along with a certain ancient, powerful, renegade, the gang is back in force! There is also a new villain, who may make you feel you need a shower after reading his parts, but he’s so worthy of your disgust! This may be the strongest effort of the series so far. It’s pulse pounding, with a climax that is sure to only make you wish for the next installment to be available right now! I plowed through this book in less than 36 hours. It grabs ahold of you and demands to be finished. I’m excited to see where this series goes next. The ending has set up at least one more book and hopefully even more than that. In Theron and Taras, we have an adversarial twosome that can continue to provide excitement and intrigue for years to come. Thankfully, they’re in the hands of an artist at the top of his game. He just needs to write faster!!!”

So, that sounds pretty good, huh? 🙂 Matt informed me last night that he had finished the book, and we discussed a few plot points that he liked, as well as a few that I liked. All in all it was a very positive experience, and I am so glad for that. That sound you just heard was me exhaling the breath I’d been holding in since I sent out the PDFs.

Tonight I am working on the Smashwords file, which will not be much different than the Kindle file. The only real difference will be the hyperlinks to my other books. Once the Smashwords file is done I will work on the print file. But while all this is going on, I will (hopefully) get to send out more PDFs to book reviewers.

June 29th is still the release date. I’ll be setting up the pre-order this week, just as soon as I finish the book description.

Speaking of pre-orders, Lyrical Darkness is now available for pre-order. I’m extremely proud of how my story in that anthology came out, so you should definitely give it a look. And not just for me, but for the other authors in the collection, who have all crafted excellent short stories based on iconic songs. Good stuff in there, folks. Goooood stuff!

All right. That’s enough pimpage for one night. Time to get working on that file. June 29th is coming fast!

Comments
  1. Aughh! It’s like you’re teasing me on purpose! I’m not particularly fond of horror, but I love your Bachiyr novels.

  2. Paul says:

    I feel like a kid waiting for Christmas. Only 27 more days (and counting) until June 29th. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

