Some News, And Some More News…

Posted: May 18, 2015 in Uncategorized

Okay, so by now you already know that 79 A.D. is scheduled for release on June 29th. (Incidentally, do you know who else is releasing a book on June 29th? Only fantasy author extraordinaire, Daniel Arenson! Woohoo! Seriously, if you have not read his work, do so. The guy’s fantastic!) This morning I received the edits back from my editor. As of this writing, I have not had time to peruse them fully, however the email was quite favorable, which makes me feel better. I go through this emotional shift every time I write a book. At first I love everything about it. Then about halfway through writing the book I realize it’s shit. By 3/4 of the way I’ve managed to convince myself that only I could ever love this book, and even I don’t like it much. By the time I type The End I have convinced myself that the book was a waste of time, because there is no way in hell that I will ever publish such a horrid piece of shit.

Then I publish it anyway because, hey, I wrote it. Might as well, right?

This was the case with 79 A.D. I had so many ups and downs with this book that there were times I wanted to scrap the whole thing and get a job at McDonald’s. This contributed in no small way to the amount of time it took to finish writing it. By the time I sent it to my editor I was certain he was going to email me back with a note that said something like “This was so bad I think you gave me cancer. I hate you and the oxygen that gives you life. Never contact me again.”

That didn’t happen, so I guess we’re good to go. It should not take me long to do the revisions, and I already have a few tentative bits and bobs for the back cover copy. At some point in the coming weeks I suppose I’ll have another contest. Winners will get a free copy-probably a PDF-before the book is actually made available. I should probably hand out a few copies to review sites, as well, huh? Yeah. That would be a good idea.

I have not done any promoting in a long time. I just haven’t had time for it. Now I’ll have to relearn a few things. Shouldn’t be that bad, right? Right? heh heh…crap. I’m doomed.

In other news, I have a short story coming out in the Lyrical Darkness anthology. This was quite fun to do. Basically, the idea was to pick an iconic song, one that almost everyone would know, and write a dark fiction story inspired by the song. Donnie Light emailed me a while back and asked me if I’d like to be part of the project, which would also include stories from Terri Reid, Ophelia Julien, Niki Danforth, and others. Of course I jumped at this opportunity.

My story is titled Satisfaction, and is inspired by the Rolling Stones song of the same name. It is about a serial killer who finds himself escalating as the high of the kill begins to wane. I’m extremely pleased with this story, and I hope you will be, too. Here is the cover for the anthology.

lryical_MEDIUM

It is not available yet, but as soon as it is I will let you guys know. I believe they are setting up a pre-order for it, so I’ll keep you guys posted on that, too. In fact, I may set up a pre-order for 79 A.D. I just have to figure out how, first.

Anyway, stay tuned to the blog. I will post all the news here as soon as I am able.

Hope you guys all have a great night!

See ya!

–David

Leave a Reply

