I missed a lot of comments over the last year…

Posted: April 27, 2015 in Uncategorized

Wow. I’ve been scrolling through my comments and I can’t believe how many I missed! My Yahoo notification was off on my phone for about two months last year and I didn’t realize it, then one day it dawned on me that I hadn’t gotten any emails to my Yahoo account in a long time. So I checked, and yep. I’d signed out of it like a dummy and never logged back in.

That’s not the best excuse, especially since a number of these comments fell outside that two month window, but it’s the only excuse I have so I’m gonna use it. To those of you who never got a reply, I am so very, very sorry. I did get your comments, and they mean the world to me. Thank you for taking the time to offer up some feedback. I hope you come again and drop off another note, even if it’s to tell me I suck. Because, well, I pretty much do.

It feels odd trying to get back into the writing swing after so much time has passed in writing limbo. Blogging is even more so. I was able to write over 6,000 words in BAIT last week, and I’m hoping to top that this week. Right now the manuscript is sitting at 32,000 words, with a projected completed length of 80,000 to 90,000. (For comparison’s sake, 33 A.D. is around 92,000 words.) So if I can write 10,000 words per week – a highly attainable goal – the first draft should be ready in less than two months. Add in editing, cover creation, and “let it gel” time, and I hope to have BAIT out sometime around Labor Day. Now, my planning is atrocious, so don’t hold me to that. I should have had 79 A.D. out two years ago.

But again, I suck.

So to all of you who are waiting for 79 A.D. and have been doing so with little to no info coming from me, your wait is nearly over. I emailed my editor, and he said that he has been ill, but he’s on the mend and should have the book back to me soon. Once he does I will be staying up late 7 days a week to get it out to you ASAP. I have the digital cover already, but I don’t have a print cover because I need a finished page count (to determine the spine width). But none of that should take long once the editing is complete.

As usual, I will be formatting the book myself for all reading platforms, including print. The print formatting takes longer, so expect a week or two delay between the digital release and the print release. I’ll let you guys know when it’s coming up.

Also, I have a short story that I just finished for an upcoming anthology. There are some extremely talented writers contributing, and I feel very fortunate to have been asked to participate. I will give you more info as it comes in, but the basic premise was that all stories must be based on popular songs in some way. I chose Satisfaction, by the Rolling Stones, and I’m extremely pleased with how the story came out. Again, more details to come soon.

That’s about it for now, folks. I’ll be back again soon, so check back often. As always, if you have any questions, feel free to ask them here. I will answer them as quickly and honestly as I can. And no, it won’t take a year.

–David

Leave a Reply

