A Word Or Two About Insulting Comments

Posted: February 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

So, I tend to let most comments through, even the negative ones, because I like hearing from all points of view. If you surf back through the comments on this blog, you will find comments that talk about some mistakes people have found in my books, or how I was wrong about this, or didn’t know much about that, etc. Expand that surfing to include my email and you will find many, many more. I am all right with that. It’s part of being a writer.

Typically, when a reader sends me an email to let me know they found a mistake in one of my books, my reply is to thank them, then go fix the error. Many of you can attest to this, because you are the ones who notified me of the mistakes.

However, if you contact me, and your venom-filled diatribe includes phrases similar to “hire me as your editor, or at least find an editor who is not a complete r-tard,” odds are pretty good I’m not going to run your comment. It’s one thing to pick apart my books, I’m used to that, but it’s quite another to insult an entire group of people in order to do so.

Also, sending a second comment to complain about how I didn’t publish your first comment fast enough to suit you (less than 24 hours later, in this case) is not going to make me want to discuss anything with you on any level.

Comments
  1. Paul says:

    F@#k the haters. Your books rock hard!

  2. Bill Landers says:

    You’re never going to make everyone happy my friend and you can’t know everything about everything. I think you’re handling it perfectly. In my humble opinion it’s content that’s important, not the occasional editing error. You have fans for a reason. You right a great story. That’s it. Keep up the good work.

  3. lol people will post “The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno’t mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the rghit pclae” a billion times all over social media and be proud of themselves for being able to read that and then complain because of a few typos in a book. If someone is really that worried about tiny errors then they aren’t really taking the time to enjoy the brilliance of the story created by the Author. It’s the imperfections in life that remind us that we are only human. There are too many grammer/spelling natzi’s in this world willing to strike others down at the first sign of a slip up and feel righteous in pointing out the fault of others. Your stories are awesome and the writing quality is there who cares about anything else?

  4. angelbaby82 says:

    They have a choice. They don’t have to read your books, if they don’t like them. To try to put you down is just wrong. You have very loyal fans. Me being one of them. I have messaged other authors in the past with questions about the books, or up coming releases. You are the only author that has taken the time out of your busy schedule to write back a personal message. That message, along with the great stories you write have me hooked. When you like the story you look past a couple errors. It’s not important. When I read one of your books, I shut the world out for that time, because I am able to picture myself there. It’s like a movie in my head. If I have to stop it’s like pausing the movie at a good part. You want to see what happens next. THAT is what is important to me. I wouldn’t even waste your time with comments like the one you received. Keep up the great work and can’t wait to read 79 A.D. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Jane says:

    Hi David, Forget about them! We love your books, so what’s the status of 79 a.d.?

    • mcafeeland says:

      Almost here. On the editor’s desk right now. Hopefully he gets it back to me soon so I can get it out to you.

  6. Ray says:

    I love your books David! Your AD series are so original and unique! Can’t wait for the next one!

  7. Tim Grace says:

    Love your word or two on insulting comments. so please except my apology in advance for not having one. I always heard if you were not getting insults you were probably doing something wrong – kind of goes hand & hand with not being able to please everyone. As for editing comments, have always found they are never as bad as the people making them. I have never read even a self published book that was so bad that I could not dope out for myself the authors intended meaning & no I am not a “book detective”. But on to more important things MY complaint – you don’t write fast enough for me, plus add to that the fact your books are wonderful – well you see the problem. So because of this complaint we could never ever be friends, because the time it took you to reply to me would be time you would have to take away from your writing. I realize this is a dilemma but such is life. Now before I have to go all “Misery” (Stephen King) on you, get back to work enemy mine…

    • mcafeeland says:

      Wow. How did I miss this one? Well, Tim, the next book is nearly out. The editor still has it, but once I get it back I’m going to kick it out as fast as I possibly can. I may forgo bathing for a while, so it’s good that odors don’t translate via computer..

  8. tuvan74 says:

    As a fellow writer I sympathize, but I simply tell folks who bash minor typos in my books that when the 2nd edition comes out these “errors” will be fixed. No book is perfect, and even traditionally published books have errors.

Leave a Reply

