News

Posted: August 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

Wow. It’s been a while since I posted here. I really should get better about keeping this blog updated. Sorry about that, folks.

Okay, so I know many of you are wondering when the next Bachiyr novel will be ready. How do I know this? Your search terms show up on my blog stats. So I figure I owe you guys an explanation of why it is not available yet. Here goes:

A few months ago, I was contacted by someone who was looking for a ghostwriter to work on a project he planned to bring to the market. It was an interesting project, and his offer was too tempting to pass up. (I make enough from book sales to keep the lights on, but that’s about it, so when someone offers me four figures to work on their project, well, I have bills to pay, y’know?) In the old days, I’d probably have turned it down in favor of working on my own projects, but with Cole around it’s hard to justify something like that. I don’t mind being a starving artist, but Cole deserves better.

This project had a deadline, and so it required me to focus all my attention on it for about three months, leaving me no time to work on my own projects. That is the status of 79 A.D. as of this moment: incomplete.

The ghostwriting project is now finished, aside from a copy edit, and I have resumed work on 79 A.D., which finds Theron in Pompeii just prior to the eruption of Vesuvius. My initial intent was to release 79 A.D. this month, but I have had to scrap that date due to the time I put in on the ghostwriting project. So now I make you this promise: 79 A.D. will be released before Christmas, along with The Gallows Tree (finally!) and another collection of short stories.

Thank you all for being so patient and bearing with me.

Comments
  1. katmater says:

    What?!?!? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! Haha ok ok I guess I can wait for the next book. Actually I respect that very much any writer who branches out and takes new opportunities shows great character. If you ask me your a great writer who hasn’t been noticed nearly enough for the talent you possess. If this book is as good as the others it will be worth the wait and I have no complaints as to how long it takes. I’d rather you take your time and complete it the way it should be done so that we get the best reading we can instead of having you rush through it to get it out the door. I will be patiently waiting it’s release whenever it comes so you just keep up the good work and don’t worry about it!

  2. mcafeeland says:

    Thank you, katmater. You just made my morning.

  3. When that project is finished, can you tell us what it is? I want to check out the project you were ghostwriting to see if it’s interesting enough to read.

  4. Captain Obvious says:

    What happened to my Christmas present?

Leave a Reply

