Okay, I Am Caving To Reader Pressure…

Posted: April 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

I never should have mentioned that I’d already picked the winners. My inbox was flooded with emails yet again. I bet the people at Yahoo hate me now. 🙂

All right, so first thing’s first. The title of my nect Bachiyr book will be 79 A.D. I expect to release it this summer, and it will be set during the… (drumroll, please)

eruption of Mt. Vesuvius that destroyed the cities of Pompeii and Herculeanum. Yay for those who got it right. Pat yourselves on the back and say “I know my history” seven times. Why seven? How the heck should I know? I’m just a writer.

Anyway, just so everyone knows what process I used to select the winners, please allow me to stall…er…explain it. For every correct guess, I entered the person’s name into a spreadsheet. That wasn’t easy for some of your names, since the emails didn’t give that information. (If you want to imagine me giving you a stern look here, please go ahead.) I had several cells in the spreadsheet that were simply labeled “dogman520” or “whichwithciswhich19.” Even though I never received the real names of those folks, I dutifully entered what I could into the spreadsheet so that I could identify them if they won.

Once I was certain there would be no more names to add, I visited Random.org. For those of you who don’t know, it’s a website where you can set a range of numbers and it will randomly grab a number from that range. I entered the number of names into the fields and clicked on “generate.” Once the random number came up, I referred to the spreadsheet for the corresponding row. Whoever’s name was in that row then won the prize.

Neat, huh?

What did I do with all your emails? Well, if you want, you can imagine me plugging them into a mass mailer group, or selling them to a Brazilian Job Recruiter, but the truth is I did nothing with them. Nada. Zip. I haven’t, nor will I ever, give that information to anyone. And I don’t have a mailing list. I’m far too lazy for that sort of thing. Just wanted to set your minds at ease.

Ok…have I stalled long enough? Should I get down to business? Right now?

No. Not quite.

Before I divulge the names of the lucky(?) winners, I want to sincerely thank everyone who showed an interest in this contest. This was fun in a big way, and I could see myself doing it again someday. Honestly, I think more authors should do something like this. But I digress. This blog is about me, not them. And I like to talk about you guys, not me. Ok, maybe I like to talk about me a littlle. But THIS paragraph is about you guys. And since you are all shaking your fists at me and lighting those torches, I’ll just say one more Thank You and get on with it. Seriously, put down the pitchforks. They are soooo 1850’s, anyway.

So. Thank you. All of you. For making this contest one of the most fun experiences of my writing career.

Hey! Watch those flaming arrows!

Ok, ok…here we go, already. Sheesh. Try to build a little susense for showmanship’s sake and…OW! OW! Leggo! Leggo my arm! I’ll talk! I’ll talk!

*ahem*

As I was saying, the winners of the two second prize giveaways (A single signed print copy of any of my books – winner’s choice) are:

Wendy Otelsberg

and

Mary A. Ford

Congratulations, Wendy and Mary. If you’ll kindly email me with your title preference, address, and anything in particular you would like me to write inside the cover, I’ll get those books out to you ASAP. (Keep in mind some of my books are not available in print…)

Now, for the biggie. The winner of my first ever Free McAfee for Life contest is…..

Dina Moreau!

Congratulations, Dina! You now get to spend the rest of your life (or mine) wondering why in the world this sounded like a good prize. Please email me at your earliest convenience and we’ll get the details sorted out.

You think that’s all, don’t you? You think I’m done, I bet. Clearly, you folks don’t know me very well. Heh heh heh.

Remember yesetrday when I said I had a special surprise for you all? Remember that? Huh? Huh? Do ya? Do ya? Well, here it is:

Because of the tremendous response to the contest and the kind words of so many of you who entered, I have decided to double the prizes. Yep. FOUR people actually won signed books, and TWO people won Free McAfee Books For Life! How can I afford to do that? I probably can’t. Since I refuse to let my son go hungry, I will most likely be eating a lot of Ramen Noodles from now on. But that’s okay. As long as you guys are happy.

So, without further ado, and with none of my previous stall tactics, please allow me to tell you guys who the extra winners are.

The two people who won the bonus signed copies (again, winner’s choice, and please keep in mind not all of my books are available in print), are:

Joan O’Toole

and

Linda Bolles

And the last person chosen by Randon.org yesterday – the person who will, in addition to Dina, receive free McAfee books for life, is……

Karen Bell!

Woohoo! Congratulations, everyone! I hope you all had fun, I know I did. I may have to do this again sometime.

Thank you all for entering. I wish I could give out free books to everyone, but obviously I still have to eat.
🙂

WINNERS: Please email me within the next few days to work out the details (shipping, ebooks vs. print, etc.)

And that’s it for me tonight, folks. I think I hear my bed calling me.

G’nite, all!


Cole’s turtle says G’nite, too.

Comments
  1. jen antle says:

    Congratulations to the winners! Was fun to participate looking forward to new book!

  2. Kat says:

    Congrats to all the winners and two thumbs up to Mr. McAffe (I imagine you cringing at the use of Mr haha) for holding such a wonderful contest. All of us readers are truly lucky to have been able to have the opportunity to take part. Lol it didn’t matter to me that I didn’t win since I’ve already purchased most of them now anyways ;-). Besides I already won by finding your work in the first place there’s nothing I enjoy more then finding a new author to read :-). And to those of you out there who didn’t win and haven’t read his stuff yet go out and buy something so the poor guy doesn’t have to eat Ramen noodles the rest of his life..you won’t regret it!

  3. BTackitt says:

    Congratulations to the 6 winners! Though, as long as David is putting out great books, we all win.

  4. Beverly Ray says:

    Congrats to all the winners. I am currently drinking away my depression because I didn’t win! 🙂 Actually my intention is to run right over to Amazon and buy 33 A.D. I read the excerpt in one of my Scott Nicholson collections and just waited this long to be sure I wasn’t going to get it for free!!!! Will be looking forward to the new book. By the way–love your son’s turtle–maybe we could try to win one of those!!!!!

  5. You are an incredibly generous author! For the contest in the first place, and even more so to add three bonus winners; my warmest congrats to all the winners!

    • mcafeeland says:

      🙂 Thank you. I just started looking at the overall number of entries and then thought about the number of prizes. The ratio was pretty big, so I figured “Hey, this ain’t the dang lottery! Let’s bump those odds up a bit.”

  6. Marie says:

    Congratulations to all the winners!! This was a fun contest, David. Thank you. You are a very talented and a very generous author!
    So, now that I have discovered a new author through a contest, I’m in search of your books to read them in the proper order! =)

    • mcafeeland says:

      Aww, thanks Marie. 🙂 I dunno about the “talented” part. There are more than a few people who would disagree with you on that one.

  7. Jodi Nelson says:

    I’m going to have to become BFF’s with the winners so that they’ll love me so much, (wishing they’d met me sooner in their lives), and put me in their wills to receive the McAfee books that they have stashed away for safe keeping, or predominently displayed on their coffee tables. Whichever, I’m definitely going to have to make some new friends. Or…just fork over the money, and get all of the books myself.
    Actually, it’s a very generous offer. So, I’m happy for those who won. 🙂

    • mcafeeland says:

      Well, someday I might be big enough tha libraries stock my books. (They don’t currently.) Then you can borror from them. 🙂

    • Kat says:

      Lol I didn’t win…and I only have the digital copies but I’ll be your friend anyways. I can record myself reading them out loud and send it to you 🙂

  8. marie says:

    I’m so jealous, but congratulations to those who won!

    • mcafeeland says:

      I’m jealous, too. I have to work for my books, but these darmn “contest winners” jet get them for free. Dang it. 🙂

  9. Witchin says:

    wow.. Thank you so much Mr.McAfee for your generous donation of that many books for this. it is authors like you that keep it real for us all. wish I had won( yummy all those books would have been) But I am blessed to have seen the generosity and humor that you have. Cannot wait until my birthday( i get a gift card for kindle books) so I can get 33 ad and 61 ad.

    Love and blessings
    Sandi

  10. CarolineK says:

    Awesome contest! (woulda been better if I’d have been one of the winners, but, hey, if everybody won, it wouldn’t be a contest!). One question: How can I get my hands on the pattern for that awesome super-awesome turtle??? (I’m an avid crochet-er).

    • mcafeeland says:

      Thanks, Caroline. 🙂

      One of my readers sent me the turtle for my son shortly after he was born. I have no idea where she found the pattern.

  11. […] know, I know…I already posted this information. I’m posting it again, with this blog title, just in case. So here, once again, is the list […]

Leave a Reply

