My Biggest Contest Ever!

Posted: March 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

Well, hi there, peeps! Yeah, that’s right. I said Peeps. I figured it’s close to Easter, right? And since I’m about to announce a sweet contest, well, then maybe it would be okay to mention those little marshmallow candy things that people either love or hate. For the record, I hate them. But, since I love you guys, I’m gonna move on from this whole analogy while I still have your attention.

Today, in celebration of passing 50,000 ebooks sold (a number I never thought I would reach in my lifetime), I am announcing the biggest giveaway I have ever done. Want a hint? take a look at this picture:

That’s a whole lotta David McAfee. Probably too much for people who have better sense. As a bonus, several of the books in the image are collections that feature some other authors, most of whom are far better uses of your time than my puny little work. Anyway, for the two die-hard Mcafee fans who check this space daily, this might be something you are interested in, because the top prize in this contest is free McAfee for life.

Yup.

Every book I have ever published, as well as every book I will ever publish. Until one of us goes on to the Great Library in the Sky. How will I accomplish this? Well, every time I publish a book I will make sure one copy gets reserved for the winner of this contest, even if I have to buy the dang thing myself and ship it. I should probably note that this prize does not include any books from Ghostwriter Publications, for obvious reasons.

The winner will have his or her choice to receive books in print or ebook form. If you choose print, then I can also sign the books. If you choose e-books, well then the wait time will be less. Your call. Please note: Some of my books are only available in ebook form. However, those that are not currently available in print will eventually find their way into a printed anthology, which will then find its way to the winner.

Two second-prize winners will receive a signed print copy of any of my books they choose. (Just one, though, folks.)

So, you are probably wondering what you have to do to enter such a fabulous contest. I don’t blame you, I’d be wondering that myself if I were a rabid McAfee fan. I’m not, of course, but I digress. Anyway, in just a few moments I am going to tell you all the title of the next Bachiyr novel. All you have to do is guess what historical event the story is based around. Yep, that’s it. And it’s not some prissy little thing like a signed treaty for more fruits by Roman Emperor so-and-so. Nope. This is a pretty big event. That and the title are the only hints you are going to get, though.

Once you know the answer, email it to me at monkeyfeet73 (at) yahoo.com between now and April 1st. (No, before you ask, this is not an April Fools joke, either. That would be mean on a level that is simply beyond me.) If your answer is correct, I will email you within 24 hours and let you know your name has been entered into the contest. I will then write your name and email address in a spreadsheet. Only one correct entry will be accepted per person, so once you are in, you need to do nothing else.

If your answer is incorrect, I will email you within 24 hours and let you know it. If this happens to you, please feel free to try again. You can keep trying all the way up until the 4/1/12 deadline. Once all entries have been entered into the spreadsheet, I will visit random.org, and use their random number generator to determine a first place winner and two second place winners.

I will announce the winners here on my blog on 4/7/12.

Since I know I’m forgetting something here, please feel free to use the comments section to ask any questions. But remember, part of the contest is getting the answer correct, so please do not use the Comments section to blurt out the answer. On that note, entries posted in the Comments section will NOT be considered.

Okay. Hopefully I’ve covered everything. So are you ready to learn the title of the next Bachiyr novel? Of course you are. Here it is:

79 A.D.

And there you have it. What’s the book about? The contest begins now! Have at it, folks!

Comments
  1. mcafeeland says:

    Ooooh, lots of entries so far. Cool! Bring ’em on!

  2. Karsun says:

    I just entered. What an awesome contest!

  3. Christi says:

    I love your books!

  4. jwitt33 says:

    I hope I win, I hope I win, I hope I win!!! That’s my new mantra 😀 Thanks for the amazing giveaway! YOU may not be a rabid fan of yourself, but I certainly am!

  5. jen antle says:

    Awesome contest! Love the books, looking forward to the new one!

  6. […] Greg on March 24, 2012 David McAfee, a very talented author, is having what he calls his “Biggest Contest […]

  7. Vonne says:

    Interesting concept. Interesting indeed

  8. Hilary says:

    Just sent in my guess – hope I got it right!

  9. Love To Read says:

    Awesome contest and I didn’t even have to Google the answer. lol
    Can’t wait to read the book!

  10. Mary Gagne says:

    Worlds on fire?!!!

  11. Nannette says:

    Sorry that was done wrong

    • mcafeeland says:

      Heh. I saw that. I had to trash the comment. Nothing personal, but I can’t have the answer here for everyone to see. 😉

      Also, to Gail Johnson, I had to delete your comment, too. For the same reason. Answers need to be emailed to monkeyfeet73 (at) yahoo.com to be eligible.

  12. Joan Lawson says:

    Great contest idea.

  13. Beverly Ray says:

    Thanks for the chance–I’ve e-mailed my answer and don’t let this influence you but I’ll be reading the book whether I win one or not!! 🙂

  14. Kat says:

    I wish I could say I am a rabid fan..actually I have never read any of your stuff…however I am rabid does that count? Actually I am a rabid fan of reading however and I did some research and am about to pick one of your books to read so we’ll see how that goes 🙂

    • mcafeeland says:

      Well Kat, no one is ever a fan of a writer until they read that first book. 😉

      I hope you enjoy whichever one you pick.

      • Kat says:

        I picked 33 A.D. just starting chapter 2 now and haven’t walked away yet lol.

      • mcafeeland says:

        Cool. 🙂 Hope you enjoy the rest.

      • Kat says:

        Ok I am on chapter 14 when my kindle made a noise because the battery is running low arrrrrrrrrgh doesn’t it know I was engrossed in your book? Now I’ve got to find my charger so I can keep reading! I have to say I am impressed I will be checking out your other books I always love new stuff.

      • mcafeeland says:

        14….now I have to go through my copy and see where you are. 🙂

        Glad you are enjoying it, Kat.

      • Kat says:

        Just finished 33 A.D and I was like WTH what do you mean that’s the end…obviously I’m going to have to read the next one now as I a hooked. Nicely done I enjoyed it very much.

      • mcafeeland says:

        Wow, you read that fast. 🙂 You shoudl read AFTER before you read 61 A.D. It’s not strictly necessary, but it does help to put Taras and Theron’s lives after Jerusalem into perspective.

    • Kat says:

      Lol well it was cold out this weekend so the plans the hubby and I had outdoors were cut short so I had a lot of reading time..and well when I find something good to read I can’t put it down. I just finished After..thanks for recommending it I think it was very insightful into their stories. Can’t wait to start the next book now that was like waving a chocolate chip cookie crumb in front of me!

      • mcafeeland says:

        If you keep buying the books, you won’t need a reason to enter the contest. (Not that I’m complaining, mind you… ;))

      • Kat says:

        Well then you better get writing just in case I do, and don’t forget I read fast so chop chop hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

  15. Malvina says:

    Cool. Entering.

  16. Sharon Mc Cann says:

    Love the books!!!!!!

  17. Sharon Mc Cann says:

    love the books!!!! Always looking for something new to read!!!!!

  18. Lynn says:

    I just entered my answer, hope I got it right. I’m so glad you were included in the Free Kindle books email! Now I’ll have to go start finding the rest of your books. Since I have had it, I have read more books than I have read in many years!

  19. Toots says:

    Love your books, hope I win!!

  20. Danielle says:

    I just sent it in, I hope im correct!

  21. Laura says:

    ok, I sent my answer, got my fingers crossed cause I ready to read. thank you for the chance to win ALL your books. 🙂

  22. Kathy says:

    Great contest. just emailed my answer.
    Love your books!

    • mcafeeland says:

      No matter how many times I hear the phrase “I love your books,” it never gets old. 😉 Thank you so much.

  23. Sharon Delap says:

    Great idea, I hate peeps too by the way, give me a good book instead!

    • mcafeeland says:

      Yes! Solidarity! 🙂

    • Kat says:

      My mom LOVES peeps, my brothers and I not so much. Every Easter when the family got together my brothers and I would find new ways to dismember peeps. One year we took a peep chick and a peep bunny and swapped parts. The chick got the bunny ears and the bunny got the peep butt. Then we added various other things like jelly beans or pretzel sticks to make them mutated looking. Macabre perhaps but always fun to see who could make their peep look the worst.

  24. Cheryl English says:

    David, Thank You for running one of the best Contests of the year. I Love Your Books . To everyone “Best Of Luck”. What a Fantastic Contest to be part of. David You Rock!

  25. weegiewifie says:

    I just sent my guess – fingers crossed – what an awesome contest! I wish more authors of your caliber (or any caliber for that matter) were as generous!

    • mcafeeland says:

      Heh. Caliber is relative. If you read some of my reviews on Amazon and Goodreads (especially Goodreads), I have all the caliber of a week-old tuna sandwich. 😉

  26. Wendy Lane says:

    Emailed my answer … hope it is right! What a great idea for a giveaway … nothing better for avid readers than FREE BOOKS, whether e-books or traditional!!! Thanks!!!!

  27. weegiewifie says:

    YAY! my answer was correct – i’m one step closer to reading in the ICU! 😉

  28. Kathie says:

    Emailed may answer … here’s hoping it was the correct guess

  29. Marie Roberts says:

    I sent my guess in. Great contest David! Honestly I have never heard your name before, so am very glad that you were in my ENT newsletter today! I love finding new authors to read. 🙂 Plus, I’d love to win since I will be 60 years young tomorrow. sshhhh, don’t tell anyone that I will be older than dirt! 🙂

  30. Pam says:

    Very excited about your contest, great idea and of course I want to win.

  31. debbie neil says:

    I just got it. The answer is we don’t know yet because it won’t be released until thus summer?

  32. James Terrell says:

    Sent you an entry. I’ve been told I read too much but I disagree. :O)

  33. Mindy Wall says:

    I have not had the opportunity to read any of your books, but I like the sound of them. I look forward to reading them and have put them on my TBR list. I sent in my entry and winning would make me very happy… and save me some money in becoming a huge fan (and my kids too). And then my husband couldn’t complain about me getting new books 🙂 He already told me he is not making me anymore bookcases since the 4 seven foot by 4 feet ones are full and the other misc. smaller ones are pretty full also. I can’t help it, I’m a bibliophile.

    • mcafeeland says:

      We have a similar problem. Our house is almost wall to wall books. That’s one of the reasons I started readign on a Kindle. Saves a lot of space. 🙂

  34. theresa says:

    have never read any of your books, but i love to read so i will be checking your work out!

  35. Debbie says:

    My kind of contest prize. Love your books!
    Debbie

  36. Tricia paul says:

    I love your books! Hope hope hope I win..

  37. barb says:

    I don’t know if I’ve read any of your books (to be honest), but they sound like books I could really enjoy. And that my dad would like to borrow when I’ve finished them! Thanks for the contest; what a great idea!

  38. nancy Harris says:

    Interesting idea- Can’t wait to see how it plays out. I love to read these kinds of books and i love all your books. Love them and thanks for the Awesome reads.

  39. James Terrell says:

    Dang…my email to you bounced back…so sending again, hope it gets through this time.

  40. nylne says:

    thanks for the contest!

  41. nylne says:

    Thank you for the contest!

  42. Debbie McG. says:

    Is the answer something that you can guess without having read the previous books or do you have to have read the previous books to be able to guess?

    • mcafeeland says:

      Nope. you don’t have to read the previous books to know the answer. Many people who’ve sent in the right answer told me they just googled “79 AD” and got it right.

  43. Tyhitia says:

    Lots of entries. Cool. I’m not entering, just stopping by. Congratulations on all the books, man. 😉

    • mcafeeland says:

      Yeah, there are more than I thought there would be. It’s been pretty fun (if exhausting) keeping up with the entries. How the heck are you, Tyhitia?

  44. Joan Brewer says:

    Love me a little FIRE

  45. Ellen Kloth says:

    What a great and generous contest. I just entered. I’ll keep my fingers crossed, maybe toes too.
    Ellen K.

    • mcafeeland says:

      Thank you, Ellen. I remember your entry and I’m pretty sure it was right. (It’s late here and I need sleep, so I’m a little fuzzy.) Good luck!

  46. Phyllis says:

    I don’t have a clue but I do like your books.

  47. Susan says:

    Great contest! Thanks for recognizing your fans…can’t wait to see if I was right!

    • mcafeeland says:

      No way. I’m the one who should be thanking you guys. Without people willing to read my work, I wouldn’t have anyone to tell my stories to.

  48. rw1010 says:

    Whoops…sorry to have posted here! Just sent an email!

    • mcafeeland says:

      It’s okay. I’ve actually gotten a bunch of entries in the comments section. I can’t reply to them because then it would show the answer. Unfortunately, that also means I can’t tell the people they did not get entered into the contest. I hope some of them sent an email, also, or i’m going to end up feeling guilty about that.

  49. Debbie G. says:

    Thanks for the great giveaway!
    I just sent you an email, hope I guessed correctly. I haven’t had a chance to read any of your books before but I’m definitely going to go take a look at them now.

  50. Jennifer Bennett says:

    What a great contest! Thanks for this opportunity. 🙂

  51. Brenda S says:

    I sent my guess………..will be interesting to see what you have chosen from that era.

  52. Jeanne Lejon says:

    I just entered! Hope I’m right.

  53. Diane says:

    I really want to win this, as a disabled person, books are expensive to buy so this would be an awesome prize 🙂

  54. Lisa Hutchison says:

    I am an avid book reader, both digital & paper copies, so I was excited to discover another author, you, whom I feel I will enjoy what you’ve written, especially since there are vampires in them.

  55. dedrea23 says:

    sent my guess, I so hope I am right as I am such a big fan of yours!!!

  56. Kathy Grega says:

    Entered the contest – hope I win. About those peeps – hubby loved them until they stopped making them in the US. Now he is boycotting them. Someone even got him a kit to make his own peeps too. Did I mention I hope I win?

  57. Bine says:

    Awesome, awesome, awesome!!!!!!!! Thanks for doing such a great contest! Will e-mail you my answer now! 🙂

  58. Karen says:

    I am dying to read your books. Haven’t had the opportunity with being laid off. My son got me a kindle for my birthday and I have been trying to catch up on my reading again. I have missed it so much.

    • mcafeeland says:

      Sorry to hear about your layoff. That’s always hard. My wife was nearly laid off this month, but thankfully her company found a spot for her somewhere else.

  59. Debbie Ellis says:

    Sounds like some great books,great giveaway…..

  60. Sharon A. says:

    This would be a great contest to win!!! These books sound very interesting and entertaining!
    Thank you for the chance!

  61. kcrocker63 says:

    COOL BEANS 🙂

  62. Ann says:

    Very cool contest! I’d get a bang out of it if I won! Thanks for the opportunity to read more of your goodies!

  63. Cindy says:

    What a great idea – It’s just what I want for Easter. Thanks and pick me – pick me

  64. nylne says:

    thanks for the giveaway!

  65. Norma says:

    I don’t have a website But I love to read and I love free books. I would like to see newer authors books free paranormal one I love those kind thank you

  66. […] admin on April 9, 2012 Here are the winners of David McAfee’s “Biggest Contest Ever”! This was a contest to win every book that McAfee has ever written and will ever write in the […]

  67. […] works. Not all of them are for the giveaway, mind you. Some are for friends, some are for my “Free McAfee for Life” contest (You guys remember that one, right? Only one winner actually came forward to claim her […]

Leave a Reply

