I Have News!

Posted: October 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

Well, I have some pretty big news. At least it’s big to me. Some, if not most, of y’all might not think it’s all that big, but I gotta say it anyway.

I have an agent.

Yep.

For those of you who don’t know what a literary agent is or what they do, they are the folks who negotiate with publishers on an author’s behalf. They also act as salespeople to the big publishers, using their contacts to help get books in the hands of editors who will hopefully buy them. For a long time, they have been the first gatekeepers to traditional publishing, as most of the larger publishing houses would only look at work submitted to them via an agent. They are very hard to get because they tend to be selective. Their reputation is on the line every time they contact an editor about a project, so they tend to only take on books and writers they believe in. A good agent can help a writer’s career tremendously.

Back in 2007 when I first wrote 33 A.D. I tried to get an agent. I came close, but never got a contract. Then back in August I read a thread about some agents who were looking for successful indie authors. I emailed the person and he put me in touch with the person who would become my agent. (I am not naming any names until the contracts are signed.) The man called me and we spoke for about 20 minutes. The next day I sent him two copies of 33 A.D. to read.

Yesterday he got back to me and offered me representation.

So there you have it. I finally have an agent to represent my work. It only took four years and 28,000 ebook sales. Heh.

What does this mean for me? Well, for starters, it means I am not on my own anymore. There is someone in my corner who will go to bat for me and try and sell my books to the big guys in NYC. It’s not a guarantee of success, but it’s a whole lot better than nothing. I’m pretty excited about it, too.

As if you couldn’t tell. 🙂

There will be more news in the not too distant future. Stuff about books and hopefully sales, but for now I’m just gonna say it one more time.

I have an agent.

🙂

Comments
  1. Congratulations on the awesome news! Well deserved 🙂

    BTW, is there actually a way to contact you on here, bar comments? I had a look, but maybe it’s Fridayitis

    • mcafeeland says:

      You know, I’m not sure if there is anymore. I’ll have to look. But if you want to email me you can contact me at Monkeyfeet73 (at) Yahoo.com.

  2. Simone Ludlow says:

    Congratulations! A little bit of jealousy here, but you’ve worked really heard for it. Here’s to more success with representation 😀

    • mcafeeland says:

      Thanks, Simone. Jealousy is a bit premature, though. I have an agent, not a book contract. One doesn’t guarantee the other. 😉

  3. Joel Bohórquez says:

    Congratulations! I read your 33 AD book. It is a really good story. I am looking forward to read the second one 61 AD (not yet purchased).
    I am from Venezuela and have recommended this book to several friends over here. Keep on with the good stories!

    • mcafeeland says:

      Thank you Joel. Wow, Venezuela! I think you are the first person from that country to ever contact me. I bet it’s beautiful there.

  4. Congrats Dave. Now you have someone else to help the campaign for your books. All you have to do is make sure they earn their keep.

  5. Hearty congrats on this achievement, David. I don’t think “the ordinary man/woman in the street” understands just how hard it is to get anywhere in publishing these days. I’ve published around seventy books in 27 years and have managed it without an agent simply because it’s so hard to get one! You really have taken a MAJOR step forward, and frankly, it could not have happened to a better or worthier writer!

Leave a Reply

