In Transition

Posted: September 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

So, for those of you who don’t know, my wife has been temporarily transferred to Homestead, Florida. We weren’t given much time between “Hey, you’re going to Florida!” and the time we had to move. I think it was 10 days, total.

10 days. To coordinate and execute a 900 mile move.

Now you know why I’ve been so quiet on the internet lately. 🙂

For the last week and a half, my internet time has consisted of whatever I can read on my phone. Since typing on my phone is a horrible exercise in frustration, I’ve been pretty quiet. Today is the first day I’ve been able to hook up the laptop and log on “for realz.”

Right now we are living in a Ramada Inn just off Exit 1 of the Florida Turnpike, but we’ll be moving in to our house this weekend. After that, I should be able to resume my normal writing/blogging schedule. Thank goodness!

In any case, Flodida is nice. Hot. Lots of palm trees. Lots of rain. Millions of tiny frogs and lizards. I even caught a gecko last night. I asked him if he could cut me a deal on some car insurance, but he just gave me a blank stare. When he stuck his tounge out at me I just kinda figured he was mentally challenged and let him go. So far I haven’t seen any wild gators. That’s a good thing, though. Not really interested in running into any.

Anyway, I need to get off the net and try to get some work done. Hopefully Cole lets me. Hope everyone out there is having a great day.

Oh, wait…I have some big news. I can’t believe I almost forgot to tell you guys! Amazon’s Thomas and Mercer imprint has picked up The Dead Man series, including my entry, The Dead Woman! How cool is that? Here’s the official announcement. Series co-creator Lee Goldberg has been working on this deal for a while and it’s been very difficult to keep quiet, but finally I get to spread the word.

You guys know what this means? In addition to being fantastic news for everyone involved in the series, I now have an honest-to-goodness publishing credit. Yay! Something for my writerly resume. Okay, so I have a few other things I could stick in there, too. Stuff like selling over 10,000 copies of my debut novel, or having 100 reviews for 33 A.D. on Amazon (Cool, huh?). All are good points. The thing is, this sort of thing helps legitimize my place in the writerly universe. Finally, someone else is publishing my work instead of me going it alone. It’s a pretty cool feeling.

Anyway, there is more news to come in the not too distant future. I hope to be back to a more regular writing and blogging schedule after we move in to the new house this weekend. Should be fun. (not really)

Hope you guys all have a wonderful day.

See y’all!

Comments
  1. Simone Ludlow says:

    Congratulations! Homestead is a fun little stomping ground- I’m a graduate of FIU up on 8th St and the Turnpike. I would love to see a blog post talking about how or if the process that you’ve gone through with publishing 33AD and 66AD aided in the inclusion of your piece in this new collection 🙂

Leave a Reply

