The Dead Man Series, Plus 33 A.D. Wins An Award!

Posted: May 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

Okay, folks. I have some nifty new covers to show you all. As you know, Monk writer Lee Goldberg contacted me a few months back and asked if I would like to contribute a story to a new series he and his friend William Rabkin had created. The series, which is called The Dead Man, follows a man named Matt Cahill as he searches for the truth about himself and battles the sinister Mr. Dark. Here is the link to the Dead Man Blog, where you can look up more details.

Needless to say I was ecstatic, and I think my response may have been something along the lines of F#@K Yeah! However, I am trying to maintain an air of cool professionalism, so I am just going to pretend that I didn’t get all excited and start wagging like a puppy.

In any case, the first two books – Face of Evil and Ring of Knives – are already out as Kindle and print titles. The third book, Hell in Heaven, should be available on May 4. My contribution to the series is called The Dead Woman, and it is scheduled for release on June 7. Here are the covers for the first four books:


This is the first book, which sets the stage for the entire series. This is where Matt Cahill dies, then comes back. Of course, no one dies and comes back without something being different. In his case, he can actually see evil. I thought the whole concept was pretty darn cool, and this book is worth a read. Buy it here.


I really can’t say enough about James’ entry. Fantastic writing, tense plot. Honestly, I read Ring of Knives and started to feel a bit self-conscious about my own work. Daniels is a very talented writer, and Ring of Knives is an amazing read. Buy it here.


The second book in the series written by Goldberg and Rabkin. In it, Matt finds himself in a strange small town where the inhabitants seem to have skipped over the last fifty or so years of progress. Strange things are brewing in the town of Heaven, and Matt will have his hands full tying to make it out alive. Another excellent read.


I’m kinda partial to this one, myself, (I wonder why…) Here, Matt meets a woman who is like him. She has died and come back, and she can see evil, too. But this seemingly kindred spirit might just be more than Matt can handle. I heartily recommend this one, for obvious reasons.

So those are the first four books. Book five, The Blood Mesa, will be released in July. You should all give these a look, every one of them is worth a read. (Especially mine! But don’t tell anyone I said that… hehehe.)

On to other news. I have been informed today that the review blog, She Never Slept has awarded 33 A.D. with the Nightmare award for 2010, given to the best books, movies, and music. How cool is that? I really like the blog, too, and the people who run it are very nice, in an evil, eat-your-brains kind of way. Check them out sometime, and check out this cool badge they gave me.

Isn’t that nifty? I’m going to load it onto my website as soon as I figure out how. I also want to post it to my blog permanently. Gotta figure that out, too. (If you haven’t noticed, I’m woefully behind in updating my blog. I need to add links and pics, update my bio, etc. I’m a slacker, sue me. No, wait. Don’t sue me. I’m too poor. You wouldn’t get much.

Anyway, folks, that’s about it for now. I will have more news as it comes. So stay tuned and have a great day!

Comments
  1. B.Tackitt says:

    Congratulations David! Now you can put “AWARD WINNING” on the cover of 33 A.D.

  2. Burl Barer says:

    I know what you mean about feeling self-conscious after reading the other books! I’m working on mine, DEAD AND SOBER, right now, and eager to read yours!

  3. James Daniels says:

    Congrats on the award! That’s great! 33 AD deserves that and more. It’s the kind of book that makes me slap my head and say “Yeesh! Why didn’t I think of that!” And then the answer comes… “Because you were too busy watching Arrested Development reruns, son..” Sad but true. But congrats anyway!

  4. Tyhitia says:

    Congratulations, David! All that hard work is paying off!

Leave a Reply

