So Much To Talk About!

Posted: February 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

Wow. Where to begin? I know it’s been a while since my last post, but things have been crazy busy my way. Some of that has to do with writing, but more has to do with even bigger news. I’m a little over a week late in posting this announcement, but here it is, anyway.

It’s a boy! Please welcome my son Cole to the world. Cole was born on Sunday, January 30, 2011, at 4:12PM. He weighed 6lbs, 15.5oz at birth and was 20 inches long. Heather’s labor lasted 18 hours, at which time she opted for a cesarean on the advice of the attending physician. Mother and baby are doing great! Cole, at 8 days old, has lost a few ounces but is gaining them back. Also, he had a touch of jaundice, but that is also clearing up. Yay!

Of course, sleep has become a thing of memory. It’s OK, though. He’s worth it. Here are some more pictures, in which you can clearly see Cole has my hairline. Poor kid.

Here he is in the single coolest outfit he owns.

And here he is with his big sister, Hennah. She fell in love with her little brother the first time she saw him. She is also learning to drive (finally) and I got to take her out in Heather’s car a few days ago. I didn’t scream once. She’ll be out on the road in no time (so stay off the sidewalk!) Kidding! I only put that last line in there because I know she (or her friend Andi) will read it. Hyuk!

OK, on to some writing news, of which there be plenty.

January was an incredible month for me. It marked the first time I surpassed 2,500 sales for books in a single month, the first time any of my books sold over 1,000 copies by themselves in a single month (TWO books, actually), and on the same day Cole was born I also passed the 10,000 book barrier. That’s right, I am officially into 5-digits for all-time book sales. Additionally, I have also passed 5,000 eBook sales for 33 A.D. How cool is that? I haven’t even been out for a year! I’m hoping that with a few new releases, including the sequel to 33 A.D., I can get into six digits before 2012. I probably won’t hit that mark, at least not without some major pushing and a stroke of luck, but that’s the goal I am setting for myself as of this moment.

Also in January I got an email from a respected writer, traditionally published, who read and loved 33 A.D. I am not sure how much I can or should say, but he offered me an exciting opportunity and I took it. I will post more details about this in the coming months, but it looks like another good step for my career.

Heh. My career. I never thought I’d be able to say that. I’ve been a “job” guy my whole life, but now, as I get close to the big 4-oh, I actually have something that could be more. I need some luck, of course, and I still need to improve my craft, but I do think I can make it. And that’s why (drumroll, please)…

…I gave my notice at work. Yep. No more 8-5 for me. As of March 31, 2011 I will be a full time writer/stay at home dad. Both are important, and I have to admit I have my worries about whether or not I will be adequate to either, but I am going to give it a shot. For better or for worse, I will soon be unemployed. (My wife likes to correct me here and tell me I’m “self-employed,” but it still feels the same.) So if, six months from now, you see me sitting on the side of the road with a poorly written cardboard sign, please give me a dollar. I’ll probably need it.

Lastly, my website is coming. For real. Once I finish posting this message I am going to send over some information to a woman who is working on getting me an actual, honest-to-goodness website. Not just a blog. Not that blogs aren’t great, but every writer needs a website. At least, that’s what I’m told, and since I’m easily susceptible to peer pressure, I finally gave in. I’ll have more news on the website in the coming days, but I can tell you the address: http://www.mcafeeland.com. I figured I’d keep the same name as the blog, just for continuity’s sake.

Wow. That took a while to write. Whew! Glad it’s done for now. Now that things have started to calm down a bit my way, I will be able to update more often, especially once I’m “self-employed,” so do check back often. My new blog goal is at least one new blog post per week. I’m pretty sure I can manage that. I’m a slacker, but I’m not THAT bad.

Anyway, thanks for stopping in, folks. I hope you have a GREAT 2011!

–David

Comments
  1. Claire Farrell says:

    Congratulations . . . on everything. 🙂

    Definitely self-employed, not unemployed!

  2. JL Bryan says:

    Hi David,

    (I guess I subscribed to your blog at some point…)

    Congratulations, on the baby and on the (lack of a) job!

    You’re really doing great and it’s been a big inspiration to me all along. I remember when I first started hanging out at Kindleboards and you were selling about 1000 books a month…I write horror, too, so that was a big encouragement to me to get into the whole indie thing.

    Now we’re waiting for our first baby to be born in May (a boy!) and I’m selling a couple thousand books a month…hopefully will feel comfortable leaving the day job by the end of 2011, so I can be a full-time writer and parent, too. Just keep blazing those trails!

    Jeff

  3. N says:

    David,

    You know, it’s not too late for you. You could still come back to where you once belonged. But pride is holding you back. Pride and that little taste of money.

    You could give up the baby, the money, the circulation of copies of your work. You could go back to earning a respectable living in a 40 hour per week rat race job and STILL experience the joy of writing. You don’t have to quit.

    I can hear you now: “How?”

    I will tell you.

    None of those sales you’re getting mean anything if you are not part of our team.

    You know you want to come back and help my publishing company get the glory. Right now, you’re nothing. You’re just some hack author selling several thousand copies of your work.

    While you may not sell as many copies of your work in chapbook form, you WILL have the privilege of navigating under our masthead moniker, and that is no small feat.

    Meanwhile, I’m constructing cardboard chapbook presentation buckets that can be placed strategically at the front of ANY shopping isle in the UK and I have several stores agreeing to give me that space at CUT RATES, David.

    I can really make something of you. I can mold you into a top notch chapbook scribe like I have so many others.

    We have some other formats on the horizon you’re going to love as well.

    Like ELO once sang, David, when they were blatantly using backward masking techniques on their song “Fire On High”:

    “The music is reversible, but time is not. Turn back. Turn back. Turn back.”

    (Just remember. I’m the boss and everything goes through me when you get back. But I’m sure you know that already. Naturally, all the profits from your current stable of novels will help my company. We’re incurring a lot of expense constructing the chapbook tower displays. I’m up half the night doing the folding and tucking of tab A into slot B myself and it is a thankless job. )

    Just do it. Come back to your origins. Grab that brass ring.

    Your friend, your mentor, your molder,

    N

    • mcafeeland says:

      Whoever wrote this, it’s hilarious! 🙂

      • N says:

        I’m not getting the feeling you’re willing to sacrifice and grab that brass ring.

        Remember. E – L – O.

        I’ll be here when you come to your senses from your “Fire On High” and stop this pie in the sky attitude of striking out into territories better left to the professional publisher.

        BTW, this week, I’m hosting a two for one all weekend stay detective whodunit party complete with rum bundt cakes coated in a gamey rasberry sauce, to be followed by a gift basket of chapbooks of the guests choosing.

        No finer hotels are to be found than when I manage them.

        You’ll see. The proof is in the pudding and the cat is climbing up the windmill and the pride of a writer is the scatter shot of a wild goose hunt that too often ends in disgrace.

        N.

  4. Carson Buckingham says:

    OMG! This is TOO funny!

  5. Tyhitia says:

    CONGRATULATIONS, David and Heather. Er, call me dude. :-P“` Your sales rock. 😀 Congratulations on both counts!

Leave a Reply

