Lots of searches for Neil Jackson and Ghostwriter Publications

Posted: September 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’ve noticed that many of the search terms people use to find my site have to do with Neil Jackson and Ghostwriter Publications. I guess that’s fair, since I spent a great deal of time ranting about them. I do get a lot of searches for “David McAfee Author” or “David McAfee 33 A.D.” I even get searches for “I never saw a wile thing feel sorry for itself.” Yup. lots of ’em. Even a few for “Baby Bump.” It’s amazing what serach terms on the internet end up leading to me.

So far, no one has found this site by doing a search for “stupid piece of dog$#*@!” but it’ll probably come sooner or later.

After several years of blogging, by far my most popular post has been this one about Neil Jackson and Ghostwriter Publications. It’s been viewed well over three thousand times. Amazing. I guess people who are about to enter into a business agreement with Neil are doing their homework. Good. One young writer emailed me to tell me he’d stumbled across my page while researching Mr. Jackson. Apparently he thought Neil sounded a bit arrogant when he accepted the young man’s work and the fellow wanted to know more about him and his “publishing company.”

I’ve never seen so many Thank You’s in one email.

Neil might be doing OK by some of his writers, but I also know more have left GWP for other pastures. If he’s smart, he’s at least treating the “name” authors well: Willie Meikle, Scott Nicholson, Jon F. Merz, and Rick Hautula. There are probably more, but I haven’t visited the site in so long I couldn’t say.

All I know is the creep still hasn’t paid me, but that’s all right because I’m doing fine on my own.

In fact, I just checked 33 A.D.’s Kindle ranking in the Amazon UK Kindle store, and it’s currently #2 in horror, and #3 in Werewolves and Vampires. Neat, huh? Check the pic:

So, yeah. I guess I should say thank you to Neil. Why? Why would I thank that lying dirtbag? Well, because if he had honored any of his agreements with me or treated me with a modicum of respect, I’d have to share some of the money I’ve made selling over 2,000 books on Kindle. Granted, 2,000 books might not seem like much to a lot of authors, but it’s a good start. A damn good start.

On to 10,000.

Comments
  1. Jaqhama says:

    Congrats on selling 2000 ebooks, David.
    And Jackson isn’t getting a penny from your work; that’s great! LOL.
    I think this has been a learning experience for many of us.
    Your blog posts about nefarious Neil have enlightened many people and that’s a good thing.
    I’m quite sure he reads any and all postings about himself on various forums and blog sites. Must annoy him no end. Makes me smile just thinking about it.
    It’s good you’ve found your own way in the writing world and are reaping the results of your hard work. So much more satisfying.
    Ebooks certainly seem to be getting more and more popular…perhaps you’d care to blog about the advantages vs the disadvantages of Ebooks compared to paper books?
    Like; should new authors get into ebooks right away and sub to a print publisher at a later date, if their ebook sells well?
    I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on the subject.

    Cheers: Jaq.

Leave a Reply

