Been Kinda Boring Lately, Haven’t I?

Posted: June 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

Sorry about that, folks. I’ve been knee deep into a bunch of stuff. Softball, writing, editing, revising, editing, the day job, editing, and oh…did I mention editing? What fun that is. Truly. (*cough* not *cough*)

Anyway, you guys know most of the news already: The Kindle version of 33 A.D. is doing pretty well. I would like to sell more, but what author wouldn’t? The print copy is languishing. I am considering leaving Lightning Source for CreateSpace. I wouldn’t get the same distribution, but I could make the book a lot cheaper. (About half the cost) I haven’t decided yet, so if any of you have any input, I’d be glad to hear it.

I am also considering using CreateSpace to publish print versions of Saying Goodbye to the Sun and The Lake and 16 Other Stories. Those are currently only available as Kindle books and while they aren’t doing well (yet), it won’t cost me a dime to make them available in print via CreateSpace. To do so through Lightning Source will cost me around $100 or more. I already have the ISBNs to use, because I bought a block of ten, so the only cost will be my time and energy formatting and getting the covers ready, which is no big deal because I’ve done that before and I rather enjoy it.

And of course the big news is that my wife Heather and I are expecting our first child. We’re real excited about it, too. We’ve been trying for two years now and finally it happened. 🙂 I knew we’d get it right one day. I’ve already started working on the spare room and getting it cleaned up and turned into a nursery. We aren’t going to find out the sex until the baby is born (mutual agreement between Heather and me; we want to be surprised), so we’ll have to do the nursery up in neutral colors. Fun! I get to put on my painter hat and get messy. Looking forward to it.

You know what? The most popular posts I have ever put up here at McAfee Land have been, by far, my posts about Ghostwriter Publications. Even months later those posts get more hits than anything else on my blog. Are there that many people out there who are looking to sign with them? Or parhaps are the rest of my posts so incredibly boring no one wants to read them? Either way, I’m glad a lot of people are looking here. Hopefully they’ll see what kind of operation Neil Jackson runs and go somewhere else. No one deserves that kind of hassle and bull-poo (hey…got a baby coming…gotta get used to watching my language).

Well, that’s about it for now. So bottom line: Books doing OK, but could be better. Print versions likely in the near future. Baby on the way. Ghostwriter Publications = evil.

Got all that? Excellent! Have a great day!

Comments
  1. Marty says:

    Looking forward to print editions soon….and I promise I’ll get the review up on Saying Goodbye to the Sun in the real near future 🙂

  2. mcafeeland says:

    I didn’t realize you’d read Saying Goodbye to the Sun already, Marty. Cool.

Leave a Reply

