Another Ghostwriter Publications Post

Posted: June 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

Y’all getting tired of these yet? I am. But I realized something today that I wanted to share with the rest of you.

See this book cover? I designed it. I used stock art from a website that gave it away for free as long as I tell people where I got it. (stock.xchng). Everything else I did myself in PhotoShop, which was given to me. So the cover literally did not cost me a thing, and I LOVE it.

Why did I point that out? I’m getting there.

Now, the three bigger stories in this collection were published in chapbook form by Ghostwriter Publications. You remember those pictures, right? If not, here they are again:

Now, that chapbook cost 2.99 GBP, which is equivalent to $4.32 USD. Take a look at that chapbook. See how thin and insubstantial it seems? Note the cheesy stapled spine? Would you pay almost $5 for it? I wouldn’t. Especially considering the half-hearted editing. And I never made any money off their sales if anyone did pay that much for them, because as you already know, Neil Jackson of Ghostwriter Publications never paid me.

So, fast forward to Sunday night, when the Kindle version of THE LAKE AND 16 OTHER STORIES went live. In the first 24 hours, I sold seven Kindle copies. I can hear you now. 7 whole copies. Wooohooo. You ain’t gonna retire on that, David. And you’re right. I won’t. But that isn’t the point.

The point here is that on those 7 copies I made $2.45 USD. Still not impressive, I agree, but every bit of it is profit because I did everything myself.

Here is what all this boils down to:

I made more money off those same three stories in ONE DAY than I made with Neil Jackson and Ghostwriter Publications in almost a year.

A. YEAR. PEOPLE.

Anyone reading this post and considering going with Neil Jackson and Ghostwriter Publications should take this information into account. I did better as an unknown, self published indie author in ONE DAY than I did with Ghostwriter Publications in almost a year.

Food for thought.

Comments
  1. Marty says:

    Congratulations, David :o)

    You are an inspiration for self-publishing authors…and living proof that having a “real” publisher doesn’t guarantee a quick path to easy street.

    I don’t recall if you’ve mentioned it or not, but I hope you listed this dude on Predators and Editors. He definitely belongs there.

  2. mcafeeland says:

    Oh, yeah. He’s on there. 🙂 The email I got from Dave K at P&E said he couldn’t believe that he didn’t have “threat of physical violence” listed as a reason a publisher might get a Not Recommended rating, but he was going to add it. 😉

  3. simonkurtunsworth says:

    Shit shakes off our shoes as we walk, mate. See how it crumbles?

  4. catconnor says:

    Glad you found away to get your work out there despite the rotten experience you had.

    Good for you!!

  5. lostcase says:

    nice to see Neil has moved into a nice big new house. It must be great to own a business where you don’t have to pay the employees

  6. […] All I know is the creep still hasn’t paid me, but that’s all right because I’m doing fine on my own. […]

  7. Jaqhama says:

    I sold one of my short stories to an American small press anthology and got a $100 as soon as it was accepted.
    So a sub and an acceptance email netted me 100% more of a result in a week than I ever got from GWP.
    It’s worth noting that not every small press is like GWP.
    I’ve had some good experiences with several American small press publishers. Right now I’m waiting to see if my latest short has been accepted for another print anthology.

    Cheers: Jaq.

  8. Carson Buckingham says:

    Good for you, David!

    I’m having good luck with other small presses in the US. Two stories accepted for anthologies, a novel and two other shorts under review. And I’m just wrapping up edits on a novella. The houses I’m working with are a total pleasure–good communication, etc. Oh, and let’s not forget mutual respect. I can ask a question and not agonize for days about how to phrase it the way I did with GWP, so the enfant terrible wouldn’t explode.

    And I’m really happy now–an emotion I didn’t experience too much dealing with GWP and NJ.

    Best,
    Carson

  9. Zach Black says:

    Man! I wish I had done my research on GWP before wasting a year on Mr J!

Leave a Reply

