Catching Up:

Posted: May 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

Currently Reading: GREGOR THE OVERLANDER, by Suzanne Collins, and THREE DAYS TO DEAD, by Kelly Meding

On TV Right Now: Fairly Oddparents

NEWS:

Oh, boy! Do I have a lot to go through today. Grab yourself a cup of coffee or a soda, maybe a snack, because you might be sitting there a while. IPod earbuds in? OK, here we go. 🙂

What, a little overly dramatic? Good! That’s what I was going for. 🙂 Heh heh.

Seriously, I do have some catching up to do, so let’s get started, shall we?

First, I have a couple of interviews posted. Check ’em out:

Interview at Random Musings

Interview at Dark Wyrm Reads

OK, are you back? Are you suitably impressed? Am I now your favorite person on earth? Whaddaya mean “no?” Dang it. Ok, let’s keep going.

The Kindle edition of 33 A.D. has been in Amazon’s top 100 Vampire books for 5 straight weeks. Cool, huh? I have to admit it sounds a lot more impressive than it actually is. Here are the numbers:

For the month of May, I have sold 79 copies of 33 A.D. for the Kindle. Yep. I’m averaging 5 copies sold per day. That’s all it takes, apparently, to keep the book in the top 100 Vampire books. I’ve sold 33 print copies through Amazon and B&N. 25 by myself. 6 eBook copies through Smashwords, and I don’t know how many through other eBook distributors like B&N Nook, etc. I don’t get those numbers until the royalty statements show up. I know I’ve sold at least one Nook copy through B&N.com, but I don’t know if I’ve sold more.

I would like to note that this is with little to no promotion on my part. It’s not nealy as impressive as the half million or so copies of a NYT Bestseller, but it’s better than I expected. Over 200 people I’ve never met are reading or have read my book. It’s a start, anyway. I’ll take that over a handful of family members any day. And reviews are piling up, too. On Amazon, on Goodreads, even one on Barnes & Noble.com.

There are also a couple of reviews on websites, like Dark Wyrm Reads and The Novel Blog.
And more coming from sites like Bitten By Books (I think?), She Never Slept, and POD People. Plus my favorite review yet. I’ll be sending out more review copies next week, too, so there should be more reviews posted soon.

UPCOMING:

I just finished the first draft of a non-vampire horror novel, THE GALLOWS TREE. It takes place in a small town in East Tennessee. I still have quite a bit of cleaning up to do, but the story revolves arounf the town being haunted by the spirit of a 13 year old black boy who was lynched there in the late 50’s. I’ll dive in and start the revising/editing at the end of June.

My next eBook, SAYING GOODBYE TO THE SUN, should be available by the end of May on Kindle, Smashwords, and everywhere I can get it up. This is the first novel I ever wrote, and it needed some serious cleaning. It’s much more Paranormal Romance, for those who like that sort of thing, but it still involves the Bachiyr, the Council of Thirteen, and vampires. Seems to be a theme, huh?

I will also be releasing a pulp horror novella title GRUBS. I wrote it for my former publisher, but since I’m not with them anymore I plan to release it myself. It’s about a group of scientists who find a little more than they bargained for in the forests of Northern Maine. It’s fast, icky, kinda silly, and fun. At least I think so. Since it’s so short (around 45K words) I’m going to include all my short stories at the back. That one should be ready for eBook release by the end of June, which, coincidentally, is when I will get to editing and revising THE GALLOWS TREE. Neat how that works, huh?

I have not decided if I will try print publication for either book, though. If so, I’ll probably use CreateSpace this time instead of Lightning Source. They’ve been kind of a pain in the but. Of course, the downside there is the print version will only be available through Amazon. I think. I should probably look into that a little more. But hey, it’s Saturday and I’m feeling lazy.

I’ll be working on the covers for GRUBS and SAYING GOODBYE TO THE SUN over the next week or so. I want to make sure I get them right. For those who know me, I can be pretty obsessive about this sort of thing. The cover is IMPORTANT, it’s a potential reader’s first impression of the book. I want to make sure I get it right. (May I say here that I LOVE LOVE LOVE Photoshop?)

Ok, let’s see…we covered reviews, sales, interviews, and upcoming projects. Was there anything else?

Oh, yeah. A big THANK YOU to everyone who has picked up a copy of 33 A.D. in any format. As some of you may already know, I have decided to donate a portion of the profits to the relief effort in Nashville. I haven’t gotten any royalties yet, but as soon as I do I’ll disclose those amounts and send the check. I will do this with the upcoming releases of GRUBS and SAYING GOODBYE TO THE SUN, also. Every little bit helps, right? So thank you for reading the book, and thank you for helping a city in pain.

That’s really about it for now. Isn’t that enough? 🙂 Have a great weekend, everyone!

See Y’all!

Leave a Reply

