Good Reviews on Amazon, plus Updates!

Posted: April 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’m still waiting for the first of the review sites to post a review of 33 A.D. But that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy the reviews that are finding their way to Amazon. 8 are 5 star reviews, and two are 4 star reviews. I’m still waiting for the first bad review. I know it’s coming, but I’m not looking forward to it.

Also, I want to send a shout out to UK author Derek Gunn, who held a contest a while ago for people who found his zombie novel THE ESTUARY in Borders and sent him a picture of the book on the shelf. Apparently I won. 🙂 I received a slipcase collection of chapbooks from Derek in the mail yesterday. Fun! I have been in kind of a zombie mood lately, so free zombie fiction is a good thing. 🙂

On the writing front, I’m almost done with the first draft of a non vampire horror novel tentatively called THE GALLOWS TREE. I should finish the first draft either this week or next. I’ll tell you guys more about that book after the first draft is finished.

The Kindle version of 33 A.D. has been doing pretty well. It spent the last six days in the top 100 Vampire books on Amazon, finally falling out this morning. I’d like to get it back in there, of course, so I’m looking for new ways and new places to market it. I’m afraid I’m not very good at the marketing side, but I’m learning.

Here we see it as #96. It actually made it all the way up to #33 at one point (How fitting, huh? 33? Neat!) but it didn’t stay there long. One thing I’ve noticed about Amazon sales rankings is they are fleeting. Unless, of course, you’re Stephen King or J.D. Robb or someone like that. But I’ll get there. Eventually. 😉

The print version is moving, albeit slowly, but it’s selling more than I thought it would. I’m hoping once more reviews hit the internet it’ll pick up. The more people who know about it, the more people are likely to pick up a copy, right? That’s the theory, anyway, and an entire industry is based on it (pssst! I’m talking about the Marketing industry).

Lastly, watch for my pulp horror novella GRUBS, to pop up on Amazon Kindle and Smashwords in the next week or so. I wrote GRUBS specifically for the Publisher-That-Must-Not-Be-Named. It’s a pulpy, fun, kinda silly B-movie type of book. I’ll post the description as soon as I have one I am satisfied with. I’ll be formatting the manuscript for Kindle and eBook over the next week and putting the cover together myself. the nice thing about the Kindle version is that I don’t have to make the interior as pretty as I do the print version. Looking forward to seeing what people think of this one, as it’s a departure from my normal work.

Well, that’s about it for now, folks. There’ll be more updates in the coming days and weeks, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

