Wow. Has it been 3 years already?

Posted: April 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

3 years ago today, I got an email I thought would change my life. An agent was interested in my book! How awesome! Less than a month later, the agent informed me she would not be sending the manuscript out to any other editors.

One month. 5 publishers. That’s it. In retrospect, I should have asked for a contract before I let her send it out. Silly me. The weird thing is this is not some small time scam agent I’m talking about. My former agent is a legitimate one, with a nice track record of sales, yet she didn’t put a lot of effort into the book. Never even suggested any revisions. Alas. Goes back to that contract thing I mentioned earlier. Next time, I’ll make sure I have a contract before I let an agent send my work out.

So… 3 years, 67 rejections (publishers and agents), and one publishing fiasco later, 33 A.D. is out in print and ebook formats. As you all know, the book is all me, including the stigma that comes with being self-published. Sales are slow, but they aren’t dead, which is good. I plan to visit my local independent bookstore this weekend and take them a copy of my press release and a freebie copy of the book. With luck someone at the store likes it and orders a copy or two for their shelf.

Barnes and Noble has a small publisher program in place. Guess what else I’ll be researching this weekend? I’ll give you two guesses, but you’ll probably only need one. My local Borders has a section for Local Authors. I have to pay them a visit, too. With any luck, I might get some actual shelf space.

I also realized that in the last 3 years, I have only managed to finish one other novel and a handful of short stories. I’m shaking my head over that one. I’m better than that. I should have had a much larger body of work at this point. My fault, I’ve been slacking. I can do better. Going to start tonight. Get back into a book I’ve been “working on” for a year and a half and really get cracking. No sleep tonight until I hit 2,000 words, and that’s a promise.

You know, I just realized that today’s blog post has absolutely no point at all. It’s just kind of a rambling blah blah blah piece. Sorry about that, folks. Thanks for sticking with me for the last few paragraphs, though.

(unlike a certain agent – and no, I ain’t naming’ names)

Brings to mind five words I hear ever now and again from my friends Alice Loweecey and Adrienne Kress:

Never Give Up, Never Surrender.

I won’t.

Comments
  1. When it comes to getting your book out there, don’t forget about libraries…especially the local ones. I know from experience that they really like shining the spotlight on local authors. It might cost you a few freebies, but it will get your book seen by a lot of people.

  2. Tyhitia says:

    And get some copies to online reviewers as well, especially those with a horror slant and a large audience. 😉

  3. T.L. Gray says:

    David,

    Also… get endorsements from other authors. Have them link you to their websites while you link to their works. Word of Mouth never fails, and I think you’re an excellent writer and if I come across a good agent… I’ll let you know.

    Till next time,
    ~T.L. Gray
    Author of The Blood of Cain

  4. mcafeeland says:

    Thank you, T.L. I’ll be happy to lik to your website. 🙂 I didn’t realize you’d started reading 33 A.D. Glad you are enjoying it. You just made my day. 😀

Leave a Reply

