The Review I Didn’t Know I Had

Posted: February 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

I know what you’re thinking; you’re thinking I mean a review for 33 A.D. Am I right? I can see why you would think that, but I have to disappoint you. I don’t have any reviews for 33 A.D. yet, but as soon as they come in I will certainly post them here. I’m looking forward to it. (as long as they are good, anyway. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous)

Nope, this review is for a short story I did as part of the CREATURE FEATURE anthology. The story is called THE LAKE, and it’s easily my favorite piece of short fiction that I can call my own. It was in the anthology put out by Ghostwriter Publications in June of last year. At present it is not available, but I understand from GWP that it will be re-released soon with some new content. (Although THE LAKE will still be in it.)

The reviewer actually reviewed every story in the anthology. How cool is that? That took some time, by golly. But you don’t care about that, do you? Of course not, you want to see the review. OK, here it is:

– `The Lake’ by David McAfee –

Next up is David McAfee’s nine page short entitled `The Lake’. The first person point of view tale is set around an algae covered lake known as The Green Lake. The character Wally has placed an online advert for five guys to share the costs of renting a small camp on the shores of Green Lake. The positions are filled by five college students – Brayden, Spencer, Josh, Mickey and the tale’s storyteller. Wally announces that he plans to go off swimming in the algae covered lake. None of the others wish to join him because of the algae. When Wally doesn’t return, they begin to fear the worst and subsequently go out in search of him. However, the lake isn’t quite as it first appears. Smoking weed near its banks isn’t the best idea…

McAfee begins this tongue-in-cheek tale setting down a `Cabin Fever’ style atmosphere to the proceedings. Once Wally disappears and the students go out on their search for him, the tale really begins to pick up on the suspense. With definite similarities between the likes of Eli Roth’s `Cabin Fever’ and the tale `The Raft’ in Michael Gornick’s `Creepshow 2′, McAfee’s short comes across as a homage to the B-Movies of the 80’s. The short ends well, with a nice little twist in the storyline to keep the readers guessing.

Not bad, eh? OK, so he never said he loved it or it changed his life, but he didn’t say anything bad about it, so I’m taking it as a good review. πŸ™‚ Here’s the link if you want to read the other reviews, just in case you think you might like to snag a copy of CREATURE FEATURE when GWP puts it out again. Having read most of the stories in it, I can honestly say it’s worth the price of admission, especially if you like B-Movie type horror. Good stuff!

I actually have a few more interesting things to talk about, but I can’t spend a lot of time doing it right now, so it’ll have to wait until this weekend. Also, I promised an excerpt from 33 A.D. this week, and I am a man of my word. So tune in tomorrow and I will have some Biblical vampire fun for ya. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

