And The Winners Are…

Posted: February 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

Ok, first thing’s first: I want to say thank you to everyone who entered. I received a LOT more comments than I expected to. There were a lot of very, very good ones, too. So many, in fact, that I had to bring in the big guns for consulting purposes. Now let me clarify: by “big guns” I mean my wife and teenage daughter. I couldn’t pick by myself, so I wimped out. What that means is if you didn’t win, you now have three people you can blame, instead of just me.

😉

But I did make one concession to the large number of comments. I didn’t plan this, but I agonized so much over the entries that I made a slight change to the prize distribution. For the better, I assure you. Ready? Here it is.

In addition to the first place winner, who will receive the free signed copy AND decide which other commenter gets one, I have also decided to award a second prize. The second prize winner will win a signed copy, as well, but will not get to select another winner. Sound good? OK, here we go:

The first prize winner is (drumroll, please):

E.S. Brown. His rewording of Jesus Christ, Superstar takes top honors for creativity and the amount of work he put in. E.S., Please send me an email at Monkeyfeet73(at)yahoo.com and give me your address so I can get this book out to you. Also, let me know what you’d like the notation to say. Oh, and of course there is the little matter of you selecting another winner from the list of comments. 😉

The second place winner is:

Georgia. Georgia’s children are hilarious. I hope her shin is better, though. The story about the child calling to the neighbors for help reminded me of a time I was camping and my friend’s two year old, angry at being told to go to sleep, stood at the door to his tent and yelled “Help Me!” over and over again at the top of his little lungs. Kids. Oy!

Honorable Mentions:

Believe me, if I had more copies to give away, all three of these people would be getting one. But I just don’t have enough copies. 😦 I did want to recognize their wonderful comments.

DAVe: Jump Jesus on a pogo stick? Oh, MAN, did I love that! Edit: E.S. Brown selected DAVe’s post as winner of the other signed copy of 33 A.D. I am very happy with this selection, if I do say so, myself. 🙂 Thanks, E.S.! DAVe, Email me your address, please, sir.

Swaindaddy: I very much want to hear what a minister has to say about the book.

Steven Wilcox: I really, really hope you are able to get some sleep soon, man.

OK, so those are your winners, People. Again, thank you all so much for the entries. Winners: Please email me at Monkeyfeet73(at)yahoo.com and send me your addresses.

For those of you who didn’t win, don’t worry. Next week Tyhitia Green will host another contest giving away a signed advance copy of 33 A.D. Make sure you check out her blog (it’s good!) for details. I have no idea what her contest will be, but of course it’ll be worth it, right? I mean, for one of these? 😉

Comments
  1. ***Me*** says:

    congratulations to the winners! when I was reading the “jcss” comment, I was lovin it! I felt a winner there for sure!
    no worries here, I’ll be putn my advanced order in @ BAM still!
    keep up the good work, David!

  2. […] It Was Close I entered a contest to win an advance copy of this interesting looking book by David McAfee. I did not win. But I got an honorable mention! […]

  3. swaindaddy says:

    Great to hear and god luck on the book!

  4. sandy says:

    book cover is scary and the face reminds me of “The Crow” guy, I feel daunted @ reading it, this from someone who reads a book a day!

Leave a Reply

