Review Copies Are Out (And I’m Nervous!)

Posted: February 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

Several advance copies of 33 AD are now making their way through the friendly skies and should hit their targets in the next day or so. I’m going to drop another few copies off at local indie stores and keep my fingers crosses that someone there reads it, likes it, and orders a handful. Sounds like fun, right? Nope. I’m terrified.

By this time, just under 100 people have read 33 AD, including people who don’t even know me. The response has been mostly positive. 1 person didn’t like it, and two others couldn’t get into it, but I never expected everyone who read it to love it. At present the percentage is something like 95% really enjoy it, and the rest don’t. I don’t know if that’s a good percentage or not, but it’s what I’m going with right now.

There are also some folks who refused to read it based on the subject matter. A vampire hunting Jesus? Blasphemous! My response to that is always “No, it’s not.” I satnd by that statement, too. There is nothing blasphemous about the story. I don’t want to give anything away, but anyone who is expecting me to write that Jesus rose from the dead as a vampire and started a blood war with Rome or something like that is going to be disappointed. That is a story for someone else to write, not me.

But I guess we’ll see what some reviewers think oif it in the not too distant future, won’t we? Yep. There’s where the nervous kicks in. I’m doing almost everything myself, so every little bit helps, and with any luck I get another good review or two to add to the book. I currently have two blurbs, one from author Jeremy Robinson and another fron author Jon F. Merz. I’d like to have a few more, so keep your fingers crossed.

March 29 is coming sooner than I think. 🙂

Oh, and keep your eyes peeled for an upcoming interview over on Tyhitia Green’s blog for a chance to win an advance copy of 33 AD. I’ll even sign it before I send it along. 🙂

Leave a Reply

