Book Reviews, Marketing Plans, and Press Kits…Oh, My!

Posted: January 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

Oh, boy. Have I stepped into a world of ugly things. Marketing? What do I know about marketing? Isn’t that the place you go to buy food?

I think I’m in trouble.

In the UK, when 33 AD is released, the publisher will have a marketing plan, and will send out review copies, and will issue press kits. Here in the US I’m on my own.

OK. I’m up for a challenge. I’ve already registered my website with GoDaddy.com. I haven’t started the web page yet, but that’s on the agenda of things that will eat up my late Winter free time. That’s not a big deal, though, because it’s Winter. It’s not like I’m going to hop on my motorcycle and ride through the Tail of the Dragon. (For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s a very twisty stretch of road going from Tennessee into South Carolina that makes sportbike riders drool and everyone else nervous) So I have time to spare. A little, anyway.

But a Marketing Plan? What the heck is that? And what, exactly, does a Press Kit include? What do they look like? I don’t know.

But I am going to find out. πŸ˜‰

June, folks. Mark it down. Ready or not, here I come!

Comments
  1. Tyhitia says:

    You’ll do well. Get some copies from your publishers and send them out to reviewers in the U.S. or let them do it, etc. Good luck. I know you’ll do well. 33 A.D. is an excellent book. πŸ˜€

  2. Thomma Lyn says:

    Congratulations, David! And don’t worry — you’ll do a great job with promotion. You sound pumped and ready! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

