OK, In-Laws Are Home, Water Heater Is A Bust, NECROTIC TISSUE Goes Print, And FUTURAMA Is Coming Back…Time To Blog!

Posted: June 25, 2009 in Uncategorized

Before I begin, I just want to say YAAAAAAAAY Comedy Central! My new favorite network has contracted with the canceled Fox show FUTURAMA to renew the series after a six (long) year hiatus and will bring us 26 ALL NEW episodes in 2010. I’m so happy I can barely stand it! One Twitter friend used the term “Geekgasm,” which I think fits my reaction perfectly. So, YAY! FUTURAMA’S coming back! Bring on Bender! Bring on Fry! And Leela! And the rest of the crew! As Spongebob would say: “I’m ready, I’m ready!”

OK, on to less geeky news:

The In-Laws have gone back to Maine. The house is much quieter now. I always have a great time when they come, and my wife misses them a lot. But they’ll never move to TN, too hot for them. Still, we’ll see them again next month when we go to Maine for our vacation, and more fun is sure to ensue.

My thousand-year-old water heater is crap. Darn thing never wants to work right. From flooding the lower level of the house to blowing fuses and melting thermostats, it’s always been a hassle. I’ve frickin’ had it with the stupid thing. I want one of those tankless systems. Save money on the electric bill every month and not reheat the same water over and over. Problem is they cost close to a thousand bucks after installation. That’s a lot of money for a poor, struggling writer like me. *Sigh* someday…

OK, now on to my best news: NECROTIC TISSUE is now in print! Yessir, the former horror e-zine has gone hard copy, and I couldn’t be happier. This isn’t a great picture, and doesn’t do the print issue justice, but it’s the only one I have.

NTc

My first published credit was in the October 2008 issue of Necrotic Tissue. I’ve since made their January 2009 issue (got TWO stories in that one!) and now the July 2009 issue, as well. What attracted me to them was the story format they call the “100 Word bite.” What that means is a story has to be 100 words exactly, not 101, or 99, or any anything else. One. Hundred. Words. And that includes the title.

That sounded like a challenge, and it was, but it’s also a great exercise in word choice and sentence structure. You try telling a complete story in exactly one hundred words. It’s certainly possible, but it’s not especially easy. Well… not to make it interesting, anyway. I had a lot of fun coming up with about 14 of these little gems, and so far I have sent five of them in to NECROTIC TISSUE. The magazine has bought four. Not a bad average, eh?

Of course, they turned down my longer short, EXHIBIT A, which brings my submission to acceptance ratio at NECROTIC TISSUE to 6:4, but that’s still good, right? And it’s not like EXHIBIT A never found a home, since it can now be found in my chapbook, THE SPIDER AND THE FLY, released earlier this month in the UK by Ghostwriter Publications.

Spider

All told, my experiences with NECROTIC TISSUE have been nothing but positive. From the feedback I received on my submissions to their response times, they have been a joy to work with, and a nice market for folks like me who are just getting started and want to get their feet wet. I highly recommend giving them a shot during one of their submission periods, which are January, April, July, and October. Their guidelines can be found here.

I also recommend getting a subscription. The magazine is published four times a year, and a year’s subscription costs just $20. That’s five bucks an issue! Not bad for a quality horror magazine, and you’ll be helping a small press, which is always a good thing.

So go check ‘em out, you’ll be glad you did.

OK, for several weeks I’ve been talking about contests and giveaways. While I don’t want to give too much away just yet, I will say that the first such contest will be coming in the next week or two and will involve naming my website. The prizes could be any number of things, but I ain’t tellin’ just yet, so you’ll have to stay tuned here to find out the details. Hee hee… in the words of bugs Bunny: “Ain’t I a stinker?”

Comments
  1. angelle says:

    ooh! that 100 bite thing DOES sound like an awesome challenge! 🙂

  2. bigwords88 says:

    I’ll take a look at the submission guide. Nice cover for The Spider And The Fly. 🙂

  3. Thomma Lyn says:

    “Thousand year old water heater” — LOL! We’ve had water heater woes on and off, too, so I sympathize. And I love the word “geekgasm.”

    And Cool Beans that Necrotic Tissue is in print! Ha, that sentence reads really weird. 😉 Looking forward to seeing what you have up your sleeve for your contest!

Leave a Reply

