WINGS, by Aprilynne Pike

Posted: May 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

Howdy all,

Technically, this book does not come out until May 5th, 2009, but my local Waldenbooks didn’t get the memo, apparently, because I bought this today. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now, Aprilynne is probably one of the nicest people anyone could ever want to meet, so there’s no way I can let her book hit the shelves without saying a word or two about it. So here goes:

IT. TOTALLY. ROCKS.

OK, so that’s actually 3 words, but you get the point. I know I’m a horror writer, and this book is YA, which ordinarily I am not big on, but this book’s mythology and set up is so well done I can’t help but love it. The lead character, Laurel, is just a seemingly normal high school girl until, well…weird things start happening to her. Stuff that involves giant flower petals, a boy so sweet you’d think he was made of chocolate, and of course, aย creepy old guy.ย  There’s definitely a creative new spin on the faery mythos, here. Something I don’t think I’ve ever read before, and that’s a good thing. Originality is worth many extra points in my book. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, here is a picture of my lovely daughter holding up a copy of Aprilynne’s book. Ain’t she cute? The book is gorgeous, too. What a cover!

hennah-and-wings

In case anyone is wondering, the picture on my daughter’s shirt is of Neville Longbottom. I like that kid, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, bottom line, go buy WINGS. Right now. Go ahead…I’ll wait. In fact, get two copies. One for yourself and one for a gift.

Got it? Good. Now read it. Get your kids to read it. And your significant other. And your parents. And your significant other’s parents. In fact, teach your dog to read and let them read it. I’d say teach a cat to read but we all know you can’t teach a cat to do anything.ย But if you could, the cat would love it, too. Yep. It’s that good.
๐Ÿ™‚
And don’t forget to visit Aprilynne’s Blog and say hello. I know she’d appreciate it.

Comments
  1. thommalyn says:

    Sounds like a fabulous read, and how nifty that it has a cool, original spin on faeries! A lovely cover, too. And your daughter is so cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. mcafeeland says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Thomma Lyn.

  3. […] For those of you who don’t know, WINGS is about a 15 year old girl who discovers that not only is she a faery, but an entire world is relying on her to save it. Talk about pressure! It’s a wonderful book, and those who are interested can see my “review” (you can read that as bragging, if you want to) here. […]

  4. Zara says:

    I read it a month ago … I love it too much … still can’t get it out of my head … it’s really original, that’s what makes it never forgetable …it’s one of my favorite books plus the character’s my age … so it makes it even more interesting to find out what things can happen to ua at this age … i really like the tense relationship between laurel, david and tamani … overall, a creative mind, a great thought, an awesome book, a whole lotta bunch of happy readers

  5. […] Pre-Order SPELLS, by Aprilynne Pike Today! Did you read WINGS like I told you to? Didja? You should have, it was great. I even posted a review of it here. […]

  6. […] betcher bum I am going to do it soon. Review will follow. I absolutely loved Wings, as you can see here, and I expect Spells to be even better. Can’t wait to get my grubby little paws on a […]

Leave a Reply

