Which Netbook?

Posted: April 29, 2009 in Uncategorized

So I was looking at netbooks on my lunch break today. I will look at more tonight after work. (Going to Best Buy this time…) These are neat little devices. I never bring my laptop to work with me because I don’t like lugging it around, but netbooks are small, inexpensive, light, and most of them will do everything I would need a laptop for.

I think I am going to get one. 🙂

Now, before you apply this to Male Gadgetitis, I have a good reason. I have an hour-long lunch break every day that I could be using for more productive endeavors, like writing my next story. I’ve been reluctant to bring my laptop because it’s heavy, bulky, and the battery is on its last legs. But for around $300, I can have a nifty little lunchtime writing tool that will also enable me to check email and do any on-the-spot research as it comes up. (Yes, this happens to me often.)

The real question now is, which one do I get? I’d like to get a good one, but somewhere in the neighborhood of three hundred dollars. There are some that go all the way up to $1,000, but for that price I could get a new laptop, which kinda defeats the purpose, y’know? So I’m looking at the Acer Aspire One, but it doesn’t come with Word. I’m also looking at an Asus EEE, a little cheaper, but same memory (I think) and comes with more software, plus I can get a Linux version. Neat, huh?

There are others, but as it stands now those are the two frontrunners. Who knows? There may be something at best Buy that changes my mind. We’ll find out tonight. 🙂

I’ll be sure and update y’all when I make my decision, as well as keep evryone posted on how I like it. For now, though, have a great day, all.

Comments
  1. Yep, sometime in the future I’m buying a netbook too. I’m tired of lugging my laptop around, already have a good desktop, and need to have Internet access when I’m writing. Let us know how the search goes!

  2. mcafeeland says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Anne. I’ll definitly keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

