BISHOP IS OUT!

Posted: November 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s here. My collaboration with Jeremy Robinson is out. Bishop is a novella about Erik Somers, a character from Robinson’s excellent Chess Team series. This was a real challenge for me as I’ve never written a thriller before, but all in all it was a good experience. The book came out great and working with Jeremy was a real pleasure. And how about that cover, eh? Me likes!

And here is the product description:

An Iranian terrorist cell has gotten their hands on weaponized Ergot-B—a compound that causes violent hysteria, madness and death within 24 hours—and plan to unleash the weapon on major cities around the world. Successful deployment would begin a bloodbath as those exposed would kill everyone they encountered before succumbing to the compound’s lethal effects.

Erik Somers—Callsign: Bishop, is called in to investigate, but his first discovery shocks him to the core. Dawoud Abbasi, the terrorist leader planning to unleash Ergot-B, is his biological father.

Bishop, along with an undercover Delta operator known as Callsign: Joker, race across the unforgiving Iranian desert in search of the Ergot-B. Seeking answers, both professional and personal, Bishop must fight against a private army, Iranian Special Forces and men driven mad by Ergot-B. With the life of his biological mother in the balance, and countless more people in cities around the world, Bishop must call on all his strength to not only survive, but also stop the man revealed as his father—even if he has to kill him.
Sounds cool, doesn’t it? You know you want to check it out. Heck, I want to check it out, and I helped write it. Here are the links to purchse Bishop on Amazon, and Barnes and Noble.com Go ahead, check it out real fast. Do it now. I’ll wait.

I have more good news, too. Yeah, I know. As if the Bishop thing wasn’t exciting enough. But Take a gander at this picture, here.

Notice anything about that image? Hmmmm? Yup. That is the proof copy of 61 A.D. It arrived in the mail yesterday. I am going to spend some time today going through it, page by page, to make sure all is as it should be. If it passes my quality check, 61 A.D. could be available for purchase in print in a matter of days. How cool is that? I’ve had lots of people ask me why I primarily release books on Kindle or other ebook formats, and the answer is “because it’s easy.” Formatting a print copy takes a lot of time and energy, at least if you want it to look good. If you are okay with slapping the file in and lettting it run, then it takes no time at all. But I want my hard copies to look every bit as good as something that would come out of NYC. And that, my friends, takes time and work. This is why it has taken so long to get 61 A.D. out in print. But for those of you who have been waiting, the time is nearly upon us.

Days. Maybe less. Keep your eyes open. :)

Also, I stopped in to Target yesterday morning to buy a box of Banana Mum Mums for Cole. He loves those things! It’s funny to watch him eat them, too, because he will stick as much as he can in his mouth and then bear down with his gums. (He only has one tooth.) But they soften up pretty quick, so he can eat ‘em just fine.

Anyway, while at Target I stopped by the Electronics section and guess what was there. The new Kinde Fire. I’ve been wanting one of these ever since I heard about them, and I’d been tempted to pre-order but never got around to it. So when I saw them just sitting there, I realized I had to have one. So of course one of them found its way to my house.

And yes, that’s Bishop on the screen. I make it a habit to buy everything that has my name on it so I can see how it looks and reads on the Kindle. I have to say, so far the Fire is fantastic. I played with it for a few hours and haven’t yet explored everything it can do. My initial impression is that Amazon definitely has a winner here. I really need to explore the app store more, though. I’m going to try and do more today while Cole is napping.

Speaking of apps for the incredibly cool Kindle Fire, if you are thinking about getting one, or if you already have one, you should definitely slide on over to the Kindle Fire Department. This is a blog run by Jason Letts, and its purpose is to guide you to free and cheap content. From the site: “Our goal is to bring you quality content for cheap so that you can get the best use of your Kindle Fire. We’ll be offering up useful apps, freebies, fun games, and other deals on a daily basis. If you have comments about how to improve the site, we’d love to hear them. Thanks!”

Sound like a good place to visit if you have a brand new Kindle Fire burning a hole in your hands? Yep. It does to me, too. So pop on over and take a look around. Tell Jason I sent ya.

Okay, that’s about it for now. I’ll pop back in with more news in the next few days, including the status of print versions for Saying Goodbye to the Sun and NASTY LITTLE F!#*ERS, so stay tuned.

Comments
  1. shannon says:

    Hi, David,
    I just wanted to let you know that I already purchased and read BISHOP. Great job! Loved it. It was very cool getting to read more about the most enigmatic member of Chess Team. I believe you when you say it was a challenge because you basically had to come up with quite a bit of back story for him.

    Has Jeremy indicated whether he would like you to write further adventures of Bishop? Or does it kind of depend on sales and demand?

    Thanks for the great work!
    Shannon

    • mcafeeland says:

      Thanks Shannon. So glad you enjoyed it.

      Jeremy and I have not discussed the possibility of furher books, but if we do, you can bet I’ll let everyone know. ;)

Leave a Reply

